Japanese Laboratory J100R

About the participants

Lead researcher of the laboratory:
Viktor Belozerov (b. 1996, Moscow) has a Master’s degree in the theory and history of art and is a researcher and Japanese specialist. Graduated from the Art History Faculty of the Russian State University for the Humanities (Moscow). Created the educational project Gendai Eye, which aims to promote contemporary Japanese culture in Russia. Lives and works in Moscow.

Research group: Daria Bobrenko, Oxana Polyakova, Ksenia Sedyakina, Ivan Yarygin

Japanese Laboratory J100R focuses on ideas about contemporary Japanese art in Russia from the 1920s to the present.

The obvious alignment of the chronology of events is difficult, but it is by no means the essence of the research, which prioritizes reflecting the complexity of interpretive processes and the formation of a holistic perception of twentieth-century Japanese art by both professional and mass audiences. From the 1920s, Soviet art history began building its own history of contemporary Japanese art, allowing certain names and prohibiting others. In the 1950s, the names of Iri and Toshi Maruki, “progressive artists and peace activists,” could be heard in the Soviet Union, but avant-garde groups such as Jikken-kobo or Gutai, who worked at the same time, remained completely unknown.

Since this ideological cordon sometimes failed, the work of “alien” artists, representatives of all sorts of “isms,” seeped into the pages of magazines as negative examples, but they made it possible to simultaneously emphasize the “mistakenness” of new Japanese artists’ turn to bourgeois art and the exceptional correctness of realist artists, so pleasing to Soviet ideology. Commitment to the same topics, rooted in social and political struggle, humanistic motives, and recognizable elements of national culture, made it impossible to present a general picture of contemporary Japanese art, ultimately (in the post-Soviet period) leading to a historiographical void. Attempts to show contemporary Japanese artists in Russia have not filled the gaps in research into the subject of twentieth- and twenty-first-century Japanese art.

The reaction of Soviet and Russian art history to the art of Japan over the past hundred years allows us to look at the complexity and problematic nature of the cultural exchange between Japan and Russia. The laboratory aims to mark the activity of Japanese artists in Russia, including their participation in exhibitions, establishing contacts with local artists and institutions, and unrealized projects and events.

One of the main aims of this project is to show how ways of constructing an alternative history of contemporary Japanese art, different to those versions that exist in the international space, are being formed. As well as demonstrating how (by which authors and using which methods) art was presented from the Japanese side, it is important to show how the domestic model of art history and criticism shapes the viewer’s attitude to foreign narratives.

The laboratory focuses on understanding modern and contemporary Japanese art, architecture, photography, performative practices, and experimental Butoh dance in the later stages of Japanese art’s presence in Russia. It includes the creation of an archive that will bring together periodical materials that were one of the sources for this study. The preservation of this information is a tribute to anyone who has ever been involved in the exploration of this subject. Other plans include organizing educational programs and producing a book on the history of the representation of Japanese contemporary art in Russia.

Garage Museum of Contemporary Art is a key venue for exhibiting Japanese artists in contemporary Russia’s institutional space and actively promotes the culture of Japan in collaboration with J-FEST, a festival of contemporary Japanese culture. The Museum has shown Japanese artists on several occasions, both in group exhibitions such as JapanCongo (2011) and in the solo exhibitions Yayoi Kusama. Infinity Theory (2015) and Takashi Murakami’s major retrospective Under the Radiation Falls (2017). The laboratory will develop the interest of Russian audiences in the art and culture of Japan, emphasizing the importance of the cultural ties and friendship between the two countries.

Об участниках

Ведущий исследователь лаборатории:
Виктор Белозеров (род. 1996, Москва) — магистр теории и истории искусств, исследователь, японовед. Окончил факультет истории искусства Российского государственного гуманитарного университета (Москва). Создатель образовательного проекта Gendai Eye, посвященного популяризации современного японского искусства в России. Живет и работает в Москве.

Исследовательская группа: Дарья Бобренко, Оксана Полякова, Ксения Седякина, Иван Ярыгин

Японская лаборатория «J100R» посвящена исследованию представлений о современном искусстве Японии в России с 1920-х годов по настоящее время.

Очевидное выстраивание хронологии событий хотя и сложный шаг, но совершенно не исчерпывающий суть исследования, приоритетом которого является отображение сложности интерпретационных процессов и формирования целостного восприятия японского искусства XX века как у профессиональной аудитории, так и у массового зрителя. Начиная с 1920-х годов советское искусствознание выстраивало собственную историю современного японского искусства, разрешая одни имена и не допуская других. В 1950-х в Советском Союзе можно было услышать имена Ири и Тосико Маруки, «прогрессивных художников и борцов за мир», но совершенно неизвестными оставались такие авангардные группы, как «Дзиккэн Кобо» или «Гутай», работавшие в то же время.

Подобного рода идеологический кордон иногда давал сбои, и работы «чуждых» художников, представителей всяческих «-измов», просачивались на страницы журналов — в качестве отрицательных примеров, но именно они и позволяли одновременно подчеркивать «ошибочность» обращения новых японских художников к буржуазному искусству и исключительную правоту художников-реалистов, угодных советской идеологии. Привязка к одним и тем же темам, завязанным на общественной и политической борьбе, гуманистических мотивах и узнаваемых элементах национальной культуры, не позволяли представить общую картину современного японского искусства, что в итоге, в постсоветский период, привело к историографической пустоте. Показы работ современных японских художников в России так и не восполнили пробелы в исследованиях японского искусства XX и XXI веков.

Реакция советского и российского искусствознания на современное японское искусство последних ста лет позволяет взглянуть на всю сложность и проблематичность культурного обмена между Японией и Россией. Деятельность лаборатории направлена на то, чтобы обозначить активность японских художников в России: участие в выставках, налаживание связей с отечественными художниками и институциями, несостоявшиеся проекты и события.

Одна из основных задач проекта состоит в том, чтобы показать, как складываются способы построения альтернативной истории японского современного искусства, отличной от тех ее версий, что существуют в международном пространстве. Важно зафиксировать не только то, какими авторами и способами было представлено искусство с японской стороны, но и то, как отечественная модель искусствознания и критики формирует отношение зрителя к зарубежным нарративам.

Лаборатория фокусируется на осмыслении японского современного искусства, архитектуры, фотографии, а также перформативных практик и экспериментального танца Буто на более поздних этапах представления японского искусства в России. В проект входит формирование архива, в котором будут собраны периодические материалы — один из источников исследования; сохранение данной информации послужит данью уважения тем, кто когда-либо имел отношение к этой теме. Помимо этого, планируется проведение образовательных программ, а также подготовка книги, посвященной истории представления японского современного искусства в России.

Музей «Гараж» стал одной из ключевых площадок, поддерживающих показ японских художников в институциональном пространстве современной России, и активно занимающейся популяризацией культуры Японии совместно с фестивалем современной японской культуры J-FEST. Музей неоднократно показывал японских художников, как на многочисленных групповых выставках, например JapanCongo (2011), так и в рамках сольных проектов: «Яёй Кусама: теория бесконечности» (2015) и крупномасштабная выставка Такаси Мураками «Будет ласковый дождь» (2017). Лаборатория будет способствовать развитию интереса российской аудитории к искусству и культуре Японии, подчеркивая значимость культурных связей и дружбы между двумя странами.