This playlist is a soundtrack to the exhibition Spirit Labor, an acoustic meditation on time.

The playlist is based on the narrative of the exhibition, which reveals itself in several consecutive and intersecting motifs and images. The viewer and the listener are presented with movement through time zones, a descent into memories, meditative creative work, monotonous, almost machine-like labor, and overcoming the self.

In this selection we wanted to create a dialogue between the artworks and the compositions, while reflecting the exhibition’s geography. This was achieved via text or through the use of looped rhythmical formulas within the tracks, mantra-like songs and experiments with sound, and echoes of traditional forms within contemporary compositions.

The playlist features a few pairings: traditional folk mixed with trap and instrumental electronics from Howie Lee (China) and Mong Tong (Taiwan) are a homage to Sun Furong; prayerlike choir compositions by Pan Daijing (Berlin), Caterina Barbieri (Italy), and Cucina Povera (Finland) are included as a reference to works by Gino De Dominicis, Elena Kovylina, and Roman Opałka; the plant electronics of Mort Garson (Canada) resonate with He Yunchang’s 28 Days; Nyssa Musique (France) transports us to Indonesia’s Sumatra, the native land of Melati Suryodarmo; Nam June Paik’s experiments are placed alongside sound meditations by one of the originators of compositional minimalism, Terry Riley.

The playlist is available on Apple Music and Spotify.

Gallery
1 / 1

Spirit Labor: Duration, Difficulty, and Affect, installation view, Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow, 2021
Photo: Ivan Erofeev
© Garage Museum of Contemporary Art

Gifts from Garage Shop
Accessories and gifts created together with artists. Books about art, architecture, and design. Exhibition catalogues and coffee-table books.
Mailing list

Этот плейлист — саундтрек к выставке «Служба времени», размышление о времени и труде посредством звука.

В основу плейлиста лег нарратив выставки, который проявляется в последовательных и перекрестных мотивах и образах. Зритель и слушатель сталкиваются с перемещением в часовых поясах, погружением в воспоминания, медитативным созиданием и монотонным, почти машинным трудом, преодолением себя.

В подборке очень хотелось создать диалог между произведениями и композициями и при этом сделать отсылки к географии участников. Где-то удалось добиться таких отсылок через текст, где-то — через использование закольцованных ритмических формул в самих треках, погружение в почти мантровое пение и эксперимент со звуком, отголоски традиционных форм в современных композициях.

В плейлисте есть пары: традиционный фолк вперемежку с трэпом и инструментальной электроникой Howie Lee (Китай) и Mong Tong (Тайвань) как оммаж Сунь Фужун; почти молитвенные хоралы Pan Daijing (Берлин), Caterina Barbieri (Италия) и Cucina Povera (Финляндия) как референс к работам Джино де Доминичис, Елены Ковылиной, Романа Опалки; растительная электроника Mort Garson (Канада) перекликается с «28 днями» Хэ Юнчана; Nyssa Musique (Франция) перемещает нас на индонезийскую Суматру, родную землю Мелати Сурьодармо; эксперименты Нам Джун Пайка соседствуют с звуковыми размышлениями одного из отцов композиционного минимализма Терри Райли.

Плейлист доступен на платформах Apple Music и Spotify.

Галерея
Почтовая рассылка