Nathaniel Dorsky: Cinema as an Alchemical Experience of the World. A talk by Evgeny Mayzel

Nathaniel Dorsky: Cinema as an Alchemical Experience of the World. A talk by Evgeny MayzelNathaniel Dorsky: Cinema as an Alchemical Experience of the World. A talk by Evgeny Mayzel

DESCRIPTION

American avant-garde film scholar Evgeny Mayzel will explain the significance of Nathaniel Dorsky’s work within the tradition of religious cinema and discuss the poetics of his early and mature films.

Evgeny Mayzel will speak about the development of Nathaniel Dorsky’s style, trace his genealogy within the American avant-garde tradition and his connections with fellow-filmmakers, and discuss Dorsky’s poetics, drawing on the early and mature works as well as the writings by the director in search of the self-symbol of the world relieved of the illustrative role in any narratives and pregnant with miracles.

Nathaniel Dorsky’s practice has developed at the intersection of religious and avant-garde film, including the twenty-first century slow cinema. His works present film as a unique, intimate practice of religious service, a pantheist discipline that reveals the bliss of creation, lived by the filmmaker and the viewer.

The talk accompanies the program of Nathaniel Dorsky’s films at the 6th Moscow International Experimental Film Festival (MIEFF).

ABOUT THE LECTURER

 

Evgeny Mayzel is an author and film critic, member of FIPRESCI and the Russian Guild of Film Critics. He has written for Iskusstvo kino, KINO TV, Seance, Moscow Art Magazine and is a lecturer at the Moscow and St Petersburg Schools of New Film, as well as programming director at Moscow Premiere Film Festival and curator of Sodruzhestvo International Film School (Tbilisi-Batumi). He is the author of the cycle of articles The Alphabet of the American Underground (in Russian).

HOW TO TAKE PART

Free admission with advance registration.

REGISTRATION

The recording of the lecture will be available on Garage’s YouTube Channel.

Лекция Евгения Майзеля «Натаниэль Дорски: кинематограф как алхимическое переживание мира»

Лекция Евгения Майзеля «Натаниэль Дорски: кинематограф как алхимическое переживание мира»Лекция Евгения Майзеля «Натаниэль Дорски: кинематограф как алхимическое переживание мира»

ОПИСАНИЕ

Исследователь американского киноавангарда Евгений Майзель расскажет о значении Натаниэля Дорски в традиции религиозного кино и рассмотрит поэтику фильмов раннего и среднего периода творчества режиссера.

Евгений Майзель расскажет о становлении Дорски как кинематографиста и рассмотрит его генеалогию в контексте американского авангарда, проследит взаимосвязи с коллегами и разберет поэтику кинематографа Дорски. Лектор обратится к фильмам раннего и среднего периода, а также к текстам режиссера, который постоянно находится в поиске собственного бытия (self-symbol) окружающего мира, как бы освобожденного от иллюстративной роли внутри повествований и готового разродиться тем или иным непредсказуемым природным чудом.

Опыт Натаниэля Дорски расположен на границе авангарда и традиций религиозного кино, включая slow cinema XXI века. Работы Дорски представляют кинематограф как уникальную, интимную практику религиозного служения, как пантеистическую дисциплину, которая раскрывает благодать тварного мира и непосредственно переживаемую автором и зрителем.

Лекция приурочена к показам фильмов Натаниэля Дорски в летнем кинотеатре Garage Screen, которые пройдут в рамках 6-го Московского международного фестиваля экспериментального кино MIEFF.

О ЛЕКТОРЕ

 

Евгений Майзель — писатель, кинокритик. Член ФИПРЕССИ и Гильдии киноведов и кинокритиков России. Публикуется в изданиях «Искусство кино», «КИНО ТВ», «Сеанс», «Художественный журнал» и других. Преподает в Московской и Санкт-Петербургской школах нового кино. Программный директор международного кинофестиваля «Московская премьера» и куратор международной киношколы «Содружество» (Тбилиси-Батуми). Автор цикла статей «Алфавит американского андеграунда». 

ПОСЕЩЕНИЕ

Вход свободный по предварительной регистрации.

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Запись лекции будет доступна на YouTube-канале Музея «Гараж».