Garage Screen: Beat Film Festival

Date

From 01 June 2019 to 10 June 2019

Place

Garage Screen summer cinema
Garage Screen: Beat Film FestivalGarage Screen: Beat Film Festival

DESCRIPTION

Garage and Beat Film Festival—the international festival of documentaries on new culture—present special film programs to be screened at Garage’s summer cinema in Gorky Park.

Freedom of (a) Movement brings together movies about the freedom offered by movement (as in dancing) and movements (as in subcultures). It includes films on acid house and Italo disco produced by contemporary artists commissioned by Frieze for its Second Summer of Love; an integrated dance piece featuring performers with disabilities; and a documentary about the rap scene in a Chinese city where hip hop is banned. Each work in the program is an experiment, pushing the boundaries of documentary filmmaking and rethinking music and rhythm in terms of art and politics.

The central film in the program, Everybody in The Place: An Incomplete History of Britain 1984-1992 is a postmodernist lecture on acid house by British artist and curator, Turner prize winner Jeremy Deller, who represented Britain at the Venice Biennale in 2013. With the title borrowed from a Prodigy song, the documentary is based on Deller’s hour-long lecture at an English high school. Discussing the beginning and development of underground rave culture in the context of social shakeups of the Thatcher era, Deller avoids lengthy descriptions of acid fashion and music, and instead focuses on miners’ strikes, compares early house clubs to churches, and brings in Marxist theory to reiterate an obvious but important point: whatever we do is politics —and rave was no exception.   

Another film in the program, Artificial Things is an atmospheric dance experiment, in which British choreographer and integrated dance pioneer Lucy Bennett explores the beauty and sensibility of the unusual body. Bennett has created a performance of unique energy and dynamics set in an abandoned shopping mall. Delicate camerawork and unusual angles chosen by filmmaker Sophie Fiennes (director from the artistic Fiennes family who previously worked with Peter Greenway) show moving bodies and relationships that we have not previously seen on stage or on screen. Filming the performers with empathy and tact matching Wim Wenders as he filmed the students of Pina Bausch, Fiennes shows that inclusion means openness to the unusual and freedom from bias.

Garage will also host several screenings from The Other Side of the Party, a film program curated by journalist and fashion expert Katya Fedorova. Focusing on the darker aspects of dazzling fashion shows and decadent parties, the program shows how fame and acclaim can ruin people who dream about them. Films in the program include Halston—a documentary about the rise and fall of the fashion empire created by American designer Roy Halston who first invited celebrities as models and started collaborating with mass market brands; Celebration, which follows the work of Yves Saint-Laurent’s fashion brand during the last year of the designer’s life; and Studio 54—a true story of the legendary New York club told by its founder. The program also includes discussions with fashion professionals who will speak about the recent changes in the industry.

tickets

Standard: 450 RUB

 Garage Members: 225 RUB

Concessions for pensioners, veterans, large families, under 18s, and visitors with disabilities (with one carer): 225 RUB**

All films are in original language with Russian subtitles.
The events are accessible to deaf and hard of hearing visitors.

* For students of 18 to 25 years old with student ID
** Please bring proof of eligibility

Schedule

Everybody in the Place: An Incomplete History of Britain 1984-1992

A postmodernist lecture on acid house by contemporary artist Jeremy Deller.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Saturday, June 1
Time
21:30–22:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Public talk. Until the Last Guest: How to Create a Party that No-one Wants to Leave

Public talk before the screening of Studio 54.

REGISTRATION

Date
Sunday, June 2
Time
20:30–21:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Studio 54

A history of the influential club that has become the symbol of the 1970s.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Sunday, June 2
Time
21:30–23:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Freedom of (a) Movement. Premieres: Distant Planet: The Six Chapters of Simona, Artificial Things, Trapped in the City of a Thousand Mountains

Freedom of (a) Movement brings together movies about the freedom offered by movement (as in dancing) and movements (as in subcultures). It includes films on acid house and Italo disco produced by contemporary artists commissioned by Frieze for its Second Summer of Love; an integrated dance piece featuring performers with disabilities; and a documentary about the rap scene in a Chinese city where hip hop is banned. Each work in the program is an experiment, pushing the boundaries of documentary filmmaking and rethinking music and rhythm in terms of art and politics.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Monday, June 3
Time
21:30–23:00
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Celebration

The story follows Yves Saint-Laurent’s last years as an art director at his own fashion brand and the making of his last YSL collection.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Tuesday, June 4
Time
21:30–23:00
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Discussion Contemporary Art and Totalitarian Culture

Discussion before the screening of War of Art.

REGISTRATION

Date
Wednesday, June 5
Time
20:30–21:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

War of Art

A dozen creators from across Europe—from sound artists to painters who use their blood as a medium—go to the North Korean capital to exchange experience with local artists, who greet them with trepidation.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Wednesday, June 5
Time
21:30–23:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Public talk. How to Become the King of American Fashion and Lose Everything. The Unbelievable Story of Roy Halston, and Why it Still Matters Today

Public talk before the screening of Halston.

REGISTRATION

Date
Thursday, June 6
Time
20:45–21:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Halston

The film follows the rise and fall of the influential fashion designer who dressed Elizabeth Taylor and Bianca Jagger.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Thursday, June 6
Time
21:30–23:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

A Dog Called Money

One of the most thoughtful singer-songwriters of her generation, PJ Harvey accompanies the director on his journey to the far corners of the world.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Friday, June 7
Time
21:30–23:00
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Halston

The film follows the rise and fall of the influential fashion designer who dressed Elizabeth Taylor and Bianca Jagger.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Saturday, June 8
Time
21:30–23:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Everybody in the Place: An Incomplete History of Britain 1984-1992

A postmodernist lecture on acid house by contemporary artist Jeremy Deller.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Sunday, June 9
Time
21:30–23:30
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Freedom of (a) Movement. Premieres: Distant Planet: The Six Chapters of Simona, Artificial Things, Trapped in the City of a Thousand Mountains

Freedom of (a) Movement brings together movies about the freedom offered by movement (as in dancing) and movements (as in subcultures). It includes films on acid house and Italo disco produced by contemporary artists commissioned by Frieze for its Second Summer of Love; an integrated dance piece featuring performers with disabilities; and a documentary about the rap scene in a Chinese city where hip hop is banned. Each work in the program is an experiment, pushing the boundaries of documentary filmmaking and rethinking music and rhythm in terms of art and politics.

BUY TICKETS

Date
Monday, June 10
Time
21:30–23:00
Place
Garage Screen summer cinema

Garage Screen: Beat Film Festival

Дата:

С 1 июня 2019 по 10 июня 2019

Место

Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств
Garage Screen: Beat Film FestivalGarage Screen: Beat Film Festival

ОПИСАНИЕ

Команда Музея «Гараж» и Международный фестиваль документального кино о новой культуре Beat Film Festival подготовили специальные программы для летнего кинотеатра Музея «Гараж» в Парке Горького.

В программе «Свобода движения» — фильмы о свободе, которую дает движение как танец и движение как субкультура. Ленты об эйсид-хаусе и итало-диско, снятые современными художниками по заказу арт-фонда Frieze для проекта «Второе лето любви», инклюзивный хореографический спектакль с участием танцоров с инвалидностью и зарисовка из жизни рэп-группировки в китайском мегаполисе, где хип-хоп фактически под запретом, объединяет стремление рассмотреть музыку и ритм через призму искусства и политики, а также свобода формы: каждая работа — любопытный эксперимент, расширяющий границы документалистики.

В центре программы фильм Everybody in the Place — постмодернистская лекция о феномене эйсид-хауса, прочитанная Джереми Деллером, британским художником и куратором, лауреатом премии Тернера, в 2013 году представлявшим Великобританию на Венецианской биеннале. У фильма, название которого позаимствовано из песни The Prodigy, есть подзаголовок — «Неполная история Британии: 1984–1992». Свой рассказ об эйсид-хаусе Деллер оформил как часовую лекцию, которую он лично читает перед старшеклассниками обычной английской школы. Появление и расцвет подпольных рейвов интересуют Деллера не сами по себе, но в контексте социальных катаклизмов времен премьерства Маргарет Тэтчер. Он не анализирует «кислотную моду» эпохи и не перечисляет знаковые треки, но показывает съемки шахтерских забастовок, сравнивает первые хаус-клубы с церковными общинами, апеллирует к марксистской теории, транслируя очевидную, но важную мысль: все, что мы делаем (и поход на рейв не исключение), — это политика.

Еще один фильм программы — «Искусственные предметы», посвященный пластике и эмоциональности нестандартного тела, — атмосферный танцевальный эксперимент от британки Люси Беннетт, одной из инноваторов современного танца. Она занимается инклюзивной хореографией. На полчаса пространство заброшенного супермаркета становится сценой: участники поддерживают друг друга в танце с ни на что не похожей энергией и динамикой. Режиссер Софи Файнс, член артистической семьи Файнсов и постоянная помощница Питера Гринуэя, снимает труппу Люси Беннетт чутко и с неочевидных ракурсов, чтобы показать в движении тела и отношения, которые мы прежде не видели ни на сцене, ни на экране. Действуя с той же деликатностью и эмпатией, с какой Вим Вендерс следил за учениками Пины Бауш, режиссер доказывает, что инклюзивность — это в первую очередь готовность приблизиться к непривычному и свобода от предрассудков.

Также в «Гараже» пройдут показы кураторской программы fashion-эксперта и журналиста Кати Федоровой «По ту сторону праздника». Фильмы из этой программы покажут, что скрывается за ослепительным блеском модных показов и декадентских вечеринок и как слава и признание разрушают тех, кто мечтал их обрести. В программе: «Холстон» — взлет и падение империи американского дизайнера Роя Холстона, первого, кто выпустил на подиум селебрити вместо моделей, превратил показы в настоящие шоу и начал делать коллаборации с масс-маркетом; Celebration — кухня модного дома Yves Saint Laurent на излете жизни его основателя — без купюр и прикрас; «Студия 54» — правдивая история легендарного нью-йоркского клуба, рассказанная его основателем. Также зрителей ждут дискуссии с профессионалами индустрии, которые расскажут, что изменилось в ней за последние годы.

БИЛЕТЫ

Стоимость билета — 450 рублей

Билет для владельцев карт GARAGE — 225 рублей

Билет для пенсионеров, ветеранов, многодетных семей, детей до 18, посетителей с инвалидностью, одного сопровождающего посетителя с инвалидностью — 225 рублей**

Фильмы демонстрируется на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.
Фильмы доступен для глухих и слабослышащих.

* Студенты в возрасте от 18 до 25 лет при предъявлении соответствующих документов
** При предъявлении соответствующих документов

Расписание

Everybody in the Place

Постмодернистская лекция о феномене эйсид-хауса, прочитанная современным художником Джереми Деллером.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
1 июня, суббота
Время
21:30–22:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Public talk «До последнего посетителя: как сделать вечеринку, с которой никто не захочет уходить»

Public talk перед показом фильма «Студия 54».

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Дата:
2 июня, воскресенье
Время
20:30–21:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

«Студия 54»

История всемирно известного ночного клуба, ставшего символом 1970-х.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
2 июня, воскресенье
Время
21:30–23:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Программа «Свобода движения». Премьеры «Далекая планета. Шесть глав Симоны», «Искусственные предметы» и «Трэп в плену города тысячи гор»

В программе «Свобода движения» — фильмы о свободе, которую дает движение как танец и движение как субкультура. Ленты об эйсид-хаусе и итало-диско, снятые современными художниками по заказу арт-фонда Frieze для проекта «Второе лето любви», инклюзивный хореографический спектакль с участием танцоров с инвалидностью и зарисовка из жизни рэп-группировки в китайском мегаполисе, где хип-хоп фактически под запретом, объединяет стремление рассмотреть музыку и ритм через призму искусства и политики, а также свобода формы: каждая работа — любопытный эксперимент, расширяющий границы документалистики.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
3 июня, понедельник
Время
21:30–23:00
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Celebration

История о последних годах Ива Сен-Лорана в качестве креативного директора его собственного модного дома и о его прощальной коллекции для YSL.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
4 июня, вторник
Время
21:30–23:00
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Дискуссия «Современное искусство и тоталитарная культура»

Дискуссия к фильму «Война искусств».

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Дата:
5 июня, среда
Время
20:30–21:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

«Война искусств»

Десяток современных художников со всей Европы — от саунд-артистов до тех, кто рисует собственной кровью, — приезжает в столицу Северной Кореи, чтобы обменяться опытом с местными коллегами, настроенными подозрительно.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
5 июня, среда
Время
21:30–23:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Public talk «Как стать королем американской моды и все потерять. Удивительная и по-прежнему актуальная история Роя Холстона Фровика»

Public talk перед показом фильма «Холстон».

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Дата:
6 июня, четверг
Время
20:45–21:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

«Холстон»

История взлета и падения героя американской моды, одевавшего Элизабет Тейлор и Бьянку Джаггер.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
6 июня, четверг
Время
21:30–23:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

PJ Harvey: A Dog Called Money

Фильм — путешествие на край света в компании Пи Джей Харви, самой чуткой певицы своего поколения.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
7 июня, пятница
Время
21:30–23:00
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

«Холстон»

История взлета и падения героя американской моды, одевавшего Элизабет Тейлор и Бьянку Джаггер.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
8 июня, суббота
Время
21:30–23:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Everybody in the Place

Постмодернистская лекция о феномене эйсид-хауса, прочитанная современным художником Джереми Деллером.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
9 июня, воскресенье
Время
21:30–22:30
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Программа «Свобода движения». Премьеры «Далекая планета. Шесть глав Симоны», «Искусственные предметы» и «Трэп в плену города тысячи гор»

В программе «Свобода движения» — фильмы о свободе, которую дает движение как танец и движение как субкультура. Ленты об эйсид-хаусе и итало-диско, снятые современными художниками по заказу арт-фонда Frieze для проекта «Второе лето любви», инклюзивный хореографический спектакль с участием танцоров с инвалидностью и зарисовка из жизни рэп-группировки в китайском мегаполисе, где хип-хоп фактически под запретом, объединяет стремление рассмотреть музыку и ритм через призму искусства и политики, а также свобода формы: каждая работа — любопытный эксперимент, расширяющий границы документалистики.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Дата:
10 июня, понедельник
Время
21:30–23:00
Место
Летний кинотеатр на площади Искусств

Поделиться