Nadezhda Plungian The Birth of the Soviet Woman: The Worker, the Peasant, the Pilot, the “Ex,” and Other Women in Art , 1917–1939

Nadezhda Plungian <i>The Birth of the Soviet Woman: The Worker, the Peasant, the Pilot, the “Ex,” and Other Women in Art , 1917–1939</i>Nadezhda Plungian <i>The Birth of the Soviet Woman: The Worker, the Peasant, the Pilot, the “Ex,” and Other Women in Art , 1917–1939</i>
  • LanguageRussian
  • Edition2500
  • Pages288
  • BindingPaperback
  • Price8600 RUB
Buy book
Garage publishing program

The Birth of the Soviet Woman provides a detailed art historical analysis of the range of “new woman” types constructed by the Soviet authorities in the 1920s and 1930s.

The author reveals how closely propaganda and political agitation were intertwined with social change and innovation in art, while also suggesting that we should look at early Soviet gender reform as the basis for this variety of artistic solutions.

Look inside and read an excerpt.

Author

Nadezhda Plungian (b. 1983, Moscow) is a Candidate of Art History, art historian, independent curator, critic, and author of a number of books and articles on Soviet and contemporary art. From 2009 to 2019, she was a senior research fellow at the State Institute of Art Studies, and from 2017 to 2021, the editor of the “Art” section at Colta.ru. Since 2007, she has been a member of the New Moscow free association of historians of Soviet art. She was lead curator of the project Modernism Without a Manifesto. The Collection of Roman Babichev (Moscow Museum of Modern Art, 2017–2018) and scientific editor of the eponymous book series. She curated the exhibition Wandering Stars. Soviet Jewry in Pre-War Art (2021) and was co-curator of the research exhibitions Surrealism in the Land of the Bolsheviks (2017), Soviet Antiquity (2018), and Bugs and Caterpillars. Insect Culture in the 1920–1940s (2021) at the Gallery on Shabolovka. She co-curated the exhibition VKhUTEMAS 100. School of the Avant-Garde at the Museum of Moscow (2020) and was co-author of the project Feminist Pencil (2011, 2013). Since 2019, Plungian has been teaching in the School of History at the Higher School of Economics. She lives and works in Moscow.

Gallery

Share

Надежда Плунгян «Рождение советской женщины. Работница, крестьянка, летчица, “бывшая” и другие в искусстве 1917–1939 годов»

Надежда Плунгян «Рождение советской женщины. Работница, крестьянка, летчица, “бывшая” и другие в искусстве 1917–1939 годов»Надежда Плунгян «Рождение советской женщины. Работница, крестьянка, летчица, “бывшая” и другие в искусстве 1917–1939 годов»
  • ЯзыкРусский
  • Тираж2500
  • Страниц288
  • ОбложкаМягкая
Издательская программа Музея современного искусства «Гараж»

В книге представлен подробный искусствоведческий анализ целого спектра типов «новой женщины», сконструированных советской властью в 1920–1930‑е годы.

Автор показывает, как тесно пропагандистские и агитационные задачи переплетались с социальными изменениями и новаторством в искусстве, а также предлагает взглянуть на раннесоветскую гендерную реформу как на основу возникшего разнообразия художественных решений.

Об авторе

Надежда Плунгян (род. 1983, Москва) — кандидат искусствоведения, историк искусства, независимый куратор, критик, автор книг и статей по советскому и современному искусству. В 2009–2019 годах — старший научный сотрудник Государственного института искусствознания, в 2017–2021-м — редактор раздела «Искусство» сайта Colta.ru. С 2007-го — участница свободной ассоциации историков советского искусства «Новая Москва». Ведущий куратор проекта «Модернизм без манифеста. Собрание Романа Бабичева» (Московский музей современного искусства, 2017–2018) и научный редактор одноименной серии книг. Куратор выставки «Блуждающие звезды. Советское еврейство в довоенном искусстве» (2021) и сокуратор выставок-исследований «Сюрреализм в стране большевиков» (2017), «Советская античность» (2018) и «Жуки и гусеницы. Насекомая культура 1920–1940-х» (2021) в «Галерее на Шаболовке». Сокуратор выставки «ВХУТЕМАС 100. Школа авангарда» в Музее Москвы (2020) и соавтор проекта «Феминистский карандаш» (2011, 2013). С 2019-го — преподаватель Школы исторических наук НИУ ВШЭ. Живет и работает в Москве.

Поделиться