Cannibal Metaphysics: For a Post-Structural Anthropology by Eduardo Viveiros de Castro

Cannibal Metaphysics: For a Post-Structural Anthropology by Eduardo Viveiros de CastroCannibal Metaphysics: For a Post-Structural Anthropology by Eduardo Viveiros de Castro
  • Year2017
  • LanguageRussian
  • Edition3000
  • Pages200
  • BindingPaperback
  • Price540 RUB
Buy book
Garage publishing program in collaboration with Ad Marginem Press
…Every experience of another culture offers us an occasion to engage in experimentation with our own…

— Eduardo Viveiros de Castro. Cannibal Metaphysics

Analyzing the beliefs and practices of Amazonian peoples, anthropologist Eduardo Viveiros de Castro raises the question of a need for a new social and cultural anthropology.

Cannibal Metaphysics invites us to look back at the very beginnings of anthropology and the writings of Claude Lévi-Strauss in order to rethink the structural foundations of the discipline. Unlike traditional anthropology that sees indigenous peoples as an object of analysis, Viveiros de Castro assumes their perspective, turning them into the subjects of his anthropology of immanence.

Putting the Western distinction between nature and culture in question, he shows that Amerindian peoples have the same right to epistemology as the Narcissist Western scientist who traditionally considers himself the ultimate subject of knowledge. Following Deleuze and Guattari’s example in Anti-Oedipus, Viveiros de Castro outlines a new anthropological theory embodied in the figure of Anti-Narcissus. ‘…The intention of Anti-Narcissus,’ he writes, ‘is to show that the styles of thought proper to the collectives that we study are the motor force of anthropology. A more profound examination of these styles and their implications […] should be capable of showing their importance to the genesis, now underway, of a completely different conception of anthro­pological practice.’ 

The key features of indigenous anti-narcissist thinking pointed out by Viveiros de Castro include interspecific perspectivism (the ability to see any thing or being as a subject) and ontological multinaturalism (an inversion of the Occidental multiculturalism). Such thinking does not only constitute an alternative to Western objectivist epistemology, but also can contribute to the ‘decolonization of thought.’ Drawing on his own research materials as well as on a wide range of scientific and philosophical sources, Viveiros de Castro’s analysis lays the foundation for a radically new anthropology.  

Author

Eduardo Viveiros de Castro (b. 1951) is a Brazilian anthropologist, professor at Brazil’s National Museum under the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. He has previously taught at École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales in Paris, the University of Chicago, and at the University of Cambridge. He is the author of many publications on anthropology and ethnology, including From the Enemy's Point of View. Humanity and Divinity in an Amazonian Society (1992), The Amazon: Ethnology and Indigenous History (1993) and The Inconstancy of the Wild Soul and other essays on Anthropology (2002).

Gallery

Share

Эдуарду Вивейруш де Кастру «Каннибальские метафизики. Рубежи постструктурной антропологии»

Эдуарду Вивейруш де Кастру «Каннибальские метафизики. Рубежи постструктурной антропологии»Эдуарду Вивейруш де Кастру «Каннибальские метафизики. Рубежи постструктурной антропологии»
  • Год2017
  • ЯзыкРусский
  • Тираж3000
  • Страниц200
  • ОбложкаМягкая
  • Цена540 руб.
Купить книгу
Cовместная издательская программа Музея современного искусства «Гараж» и издательства Ad Marginem
Любой опыт другой мысли — это эксперимент над нашей собственной.

— Эдуарду Вивейруш де Кастру «Каннибальские практики»

Анализируя верования и практики амазонских индейцев, ведущий современный антрополог Эдуарду Вивейруш де Кастру ставит вопрос о необходимости новой социальной, или культурной, антропологии.

«Каннибальские метафизики» возвращают нас к истокам дисциплины и ее основателю Клоду Леви-Строссу, заново переосмысляя и актуализируя структуралистские основы антропологии как науки. Однако, в отличие от классической традиции, видящей в туземных сообществах миноритарные группы, чья роль сводится к функции объекта изучения, Кастру предлагает встать на позицию самих туземцев и, наделив их таким образом статусом субъекта, прокладывает путь к так называемой антропологии имманентности.

«…То что одни называют “природой”, для других вполне может оказаться “культурой”», — пишет он, подразумевая, что индейцы имеют такое же право на собственную эпистемологию, как и западный ученый, привыкший считать производителем и носителем знания исключительно себя. Последнего Кастру сравнивает с Нарциссом и, подобно философам Делёзу и Гваттари, предлагающим взамен фрейдовского Эдипа модель индивида, связанную с политикой и экономикой капитализма («Анти-Эдип»), выстраивает свою антропологическую теорию, отталкиваясь от фигуры Анти-Нарцисса: «“Анти-Нарцисс” стремится показать, что стили мышления, присущие изучаемым нами коллективам, являются движущей силой антропологии как дисциплины. Более глубокое исследование этих стилей и их последствий… должно быть способно продемонстрировать их значение в актуальном генезисе совершенно иной концепции антропологической практики».

Отличительными чертами антинарциссического мышления индейцев Кастру называет «межвидовой перспективизм» (грубо говоря, способность видеть именно субъект, а не объект, в любой вещи) и «онтологический мультинатурализм» (реверсия современного западного мультикультурализма). В сочетании друг с другом они претендует не только на самодостаточную альтернативу объективистской метафизике, но и на некую философию деколонизации сознания. Книга представляет собой развернутый анализ этих и других фундаментальных понятий на собственном материале автора, а также обширного научно-философского контекста, создавая основу для принципиально новой антропологической методологии.

Об авторе

Эдуарду Вивейруш де Кастру (род. 1951) — бразильский антрополог, профессор Национального музея Бразилии при Федеральном университете Рио-де-Жанейро. В разные годы преподавал в Высшей школе социальных исследований (Париж), Чикагском и Кембриджском университетах. Автор множества книг по антропологии и этнологии, в том числе — «С точки зрения врага: человек и божество в Амазонском обществе» (From the enemy’s point of view: humanity and divinity in an Amazonian society, 1992), «Амазония: этнология и местная история» (The Amazon: Ethnology and Indigenous History, 1993) и «Непостоянство дикой души и другие эссе по антропологии» (The Inconstancy of the Wild Soul and other essays on Anthropology, 2002).

Галерея

Поделиться