Alexander Zhitenev A Brief History of the “New” in Russian Discourse About Art

Alexander Zhitenev <i>A Brief History of the “New” in Russian Discourse About Art</i>Alexander Zhitenev <i>A Brief History of the “New” in Russian Discourse About Art</i>
  • Year2022
  • LanguageRussian
  • Edition1000
  • BindingPaperback
  • Price670 RUB
Buy book
Garage publishing program

If an artist aims to be contemporary, does this mean that their work must necessarily be «new?»

Is «novelty» asserted in relation to some reference point or is it a permanent quality? Can it be argued that the «new» appears within a system of coordinates or does it manifest itself by creating such a system? Is a world without the «new» possible, and will this world still be the world of contemporary art?

These and other issues regarding novelty remained critical throughout the twentieth century, as they were associated with the problem of (self)legitimation of creativity, with its integration into various value and reputational hierarchies. At the same time, the content of the «new» and the range of implications and functions assigned to it were understood in significantly different ways in various historical contexts.

Look inside and read an excerpt.

Author

Alexander Zhitenev (b. 1978, Voronezh) is a Doctor of Philology and researcher into Russian twentieth- and twenty-first-century literature. He is a Docent and Professor at Voronezh State University (since 2008) and was a Research Fellow at DFG-Kolleg-Forschungsgruppe at the University of Trier (Germany, 2019–2020).

Gallery

Share

Александр Житенев «Краткая история “нового” в российском дискурсе об искусстве»

Александр Житенев «Краткая история “нового” в российском дискурсе об искусстве»Александр Житенев «Краткая история “нового” в российском дискурсе об искусстве»
  • Год2022
  • ЯзыкРусский
  • Тираж1000
  • ОбложкаМягкая
Издательская программа Музея современного искусства «Гараж»

Если художник хочет быть современным, означает ли это, что его творчество непременно должно быть «новым»? 

«Новизна» утверждается по отношению к какой-то точке отсчета или является неким перманентным качеством? Можно ли утверждать, что «новое» появляется в какой-то системе координат или оно проявляет себя в том, что создает систему координат? Возможен ли мир без «нового» и будет ли этот мир все еще миром современного искусства?

Эти и другие вопросы, связанные с критерием новизны, на протяжении всего XX столетия сохраняли свою актуальность, поскольку были связаны с проблемой (само)легитимации творчества, со встраиванием его в различные ценностные и репутационные иерархии. При этом в разных исторических контекстах содержание «нового», круг закрепленных за ним смыслов и функций понимались существенно различным образом.

Об авторе

Александр Житенев (род. 1978, Воронеж) — доктор филологических наук, исследователь русской литературы XX–XXI веков. Доцент, профессор Воронежского государственного университета (с 2008). Научный сотрудник DFG-Kolleg-Forschungsgruppe в Трирском университете (Германия, 2019–2020).

Поделиться