A Brief History of Street Art in Nizhny Novgorod by Alisa Savitskaya, Artem Filatov

A Brief History of Street Art in Nizhny Novgorod by Alisa Savitskaya, Artem FilatovA Brief History of Street Art in Nizhny Novgorod by Alisa Savitskaya, Artem Filatov
  • Year2019
  • LanguageRussian
  • Edition2000
  • Pages180
  • BindingPaperback
  • Price400 RUB
Buy book
Garage publishing program

The fourth book in the GARAGE.txt series examines the street art of Nizhny Novgorod, a unique phenomenon in Russian contemporary art.  

One of Russia’s biggest cities, Nizhny Novgorod is a curious mix of quiet provincial character and the ambitions of a megalopolis.

The city, its complex and unusual layout, elaborate structure, and various cultural layers have all informed the phenomenon that the authors of this book have named “Nizhny Novgorod street art.” The street art movement formed in the 2010s and unites local artists such as Andrey Druzhaev, Fyodor Makhlayuk, Anton Morokov, Andrey Olenev, Artem Filatov, Yakov Khorev, Vladimir Chernyshev, and TOY group. The book features numerous photographs documenting projects by these artists.

Authors

Alisa Savitskaya (b. 1986, Gorky/Nizhny Novgorod) is a curator and head of exhibitions at the Volgo-Vyatka branch of the National Center for Contemporary Arts, ROSIZO, which is located in Nizhny Novgorod’s Arsenal. She initiated and co-curated the exhibitions Studies in Optimism (2014), The Museum of Great Expectations (2015), Living Alive (2016), Foolproof Feelings (2017), Gorky. Modernism (2018) and Innovation-2019 (2019). She is the author of Communal Avant-Garde. A Guide to the “Socialist Cities” of the Nizhny Novgorod car plant and the Uralmash factory in Yekaterinburg (with Elena Belova and Aleksey Gordin, 2011). She lives and works in Nizhny Novgorod.


Artem Filatov (b. 1991, Nizhny Novgorod) is an artist and curator, and one of the key figures within Nizhny Novgorod street art. He creates objects and installations and curates projects informed by Nizhny Novgorod’s history and cultural landscape. His projects include the festival of street art New City: Ancient (2014–2016) and the exhibition Going Home (2017). He has been awarded a Garage grant for contemporary artists (2016), the Young Artists’ Prize presented by Credit Suisse and Cosmoscow art fair (2017), and the Innovation Prize for the Best Regional Project (2018). He lives and works in Nizhny Novgorod.

Gallery

Share

Алиса Савицкая, Артем Филатов «Краткая история нижегородского уличного искусства»

Алиса Савицкая, Артем Филатов «Краткая история нижегородского уличного искусства»Алиса Савицкая, Артем Филатов «Краткая история нижегородского уличного искусства»
  • Год2019
  • ЯзыкРусский
  • Тираж2000
  • Страниц180
  • ОбложкаМягкая
  • Цена400 руб.
Купить книгу
Издательская программа Музея современного искусства «Гараж»

4-я книга серии «ГАРАЖ.txt» посвящена нижегородскому уличному искусству — уникальному явлению художественной жизни России.

Эта книга — о Нижнем Новгороде, одном из крупнейших российских городов, в котором причудливо сплелись амбиции мегаполиса и тихая поволжская провинциальность.

Именно город, сложность и необычность его устройства, витиеватая структура и разнообразие культурных наслоений стали неотъемлемой частью того, что авторы книги называют нижегородским уличным искусством. В книге нижегородское уличное искусство определяется как художественное направление, сформировавшееся в 2010-е годы и объединившее локальных художников — Андрея Дружаева, Федора Махлаюка, Антона Морокова, Андрея Оленева, Артема Филатова, Якова Хорева, Владимира Чернышева и команду «ТОЙ». Издание включает в себя множество фотографий, документирующих проекты художников.

Об авторах

Алиса Савицкая (род. 1986, Горький) — куратор, начальник отдела выставок Волго-Вятского филиала Государственного центра современного искусства в составе РОСИЗО (Арсенал). Автор и куратор (в составе кураторских групп) выставок «Этюды оптимизма» (2014), «Музей великих надежд» (2015), «Жизнь живых» (2016), «Простые чувства» (2017), «Горький. Модернизм» (2018), «Инновация-2019» (2019) и других. Автор книги «Коммунальный авангард. Каталог-путеводитель по соцгородам Автозавода и Уралмаша в Нижнем Новгороде и Екатеринбурге» (совместно с Еленой Беловой и Алексеем Гординым, 2011). Живет и работает в Нижнем Новгороде.


Артем Филатов (род. 1991, Нижний Новгород) — художник, куратор. Один из ключевых представителей нижегородского уличного искусства. Автор объектов, инсталляций и кураторских проектов, построенных на взаимодействии с нижегородской историей и культурным ландшафтом, среди которых — фестиваль уличного искусства «Новый Город: Древний» (2014–2016) и выставка «Обратно домой» (2017). Лауреат грантовой программы Музея современного искусства «Гараж» для художников, работающих в сфере актуального искусства (2016), премии банка Credit Suisse и ярмарки Cosmoscow для молодых художников (2017) и Государственной премии в области современного искусства «Инновация» в номинации «Региональный проект» (2018). Живет и работает в Нижнем Новгороде.

Галерея

Поделиться