Working with visitors with migrant backgrounds and experience of forced migration at Garage

 Working with visitors with migrant backgrounds and experience of forced migration at Garage

Garage's Inclusive Programs department is actively expanding the concept of inclusion, which is usually understood in Russia as a politically correct synonym for the term "disability." In fact, inclusion means developing comfortable conditions for all people, regardless of their age, religious beliefs, gender, ethnic and cultural affiliations, and whether they have a disability or not.

In 2019, the Inclusive Programs department launched a new direction focusing on working with people with migrant backgrounds and the experience of forced migration. The establishment of the new direction was preceded by the Museum's efforts to work with children and teenagers with experience of forced migration. In 2017, the Museum also launched courses in Russian as a foreign language for the Museum staff who have migrant backgrounds. These courses became an important step for our personal understanding of inclusion and diversity.

The department's current performance in this direction can be divided into internal and external directions.  Our work is aimed at people with and without migrant experience. Internal work means that we continue to conduct language courses for employees, although in a broader format than just studying the Russian language; it also implies acquaintance with Russian culture and history, visits to Moscow cultural institutions, and discussions on the issues of contemporary migration. The external direction means working with Garage audiences using various formats, including lectures, discussions, workshops, conferences, training, podcasts, festivals, and games.

In the first two years since the launch of the new direction, Garage devoted a lot of time to covering various aspects of migration and forced migration. At this stage of the program's development, the majority of our target audience were people without experience of external migration. It was important for us to create a space for dialogue—in order to destigmatize people with migrant backgrounds and promote awareness about ethnocultural diversity. One of the seminal projects of the first stage—the destigmatization stage—became the annual cross-museum festival Point of Displacement, timed to coincide with World Refugee Day.

In 2021–2022, we plan to launch guided tours delivered in the Uzbek, Kyrgyz and Tajik languages, design a program of internships for teenagers with the experience of forced migration, and develop a professional training program for guides whose native languages are Central Asian. It is important for us that visitors to the Museum can receive information in the language of their preference.

We continue to develop programs for children and teenagers addressed to all visitors, regardless of whether or not they have migrant experience. Any kid or teen, as well as their parents, can find events on offer at Garage for themselves that are designed, taking into account different interests and audience requests.

Along with the Museum's public programs, our activity evolves within the framework of its professional direction. One of Garage's annual conferences, Experiencing the Museum, for instance, was dedicated to the issues of cultural institutions' interaction with people with migrant backgrounds and the experience of forced migration. In 2020, we assumed responsibility and, as part of our course on the basics of working with people with migrant backgrounds and the experience of forced migration, trained fifteen specialists in the field of education project development with consideration of ethnocultural diversity.

Various tools for addressing the subject of migration and working with people with relevant experiences help our aim to achieve our main goal, which is ensuring comfortable conditions for an individual's visit to the Museum.


Relevant links:

  1. Course on the basics of working with people with migrant backgrounds and the experience of forced migration

Share

Mailing list

Работа с людьми с миграционным опытом и опытом вынужденного переселения в Музее «Гараж»

Работа с людьми с миграционным опытом и опытом вынужденного переселения в Музее «Гараж»

Отдел инклюзивных программ Музея «Гараж» активно расширяет понятие инклюзии, которое в России обычно воспринимается как политкорректный синоним к слову «инвалидность». По факту же инклюзия — это создание комфортных условий для всех людей вне зависимости от наличия или отсутствия инвалидности, возраста, религиозных убеждений, гендерной и этнокультурной принадлежности.

В 2019 году отдел инклюзивных программ Музея запустил новое направление по работе с людьми с опытом миграции и вынужденного переселения. Предпосылками для появления нового направления стали попытки Музея работать с детьми и подростками с опытом вынужденного переселения. Также в 2017 году в Музее появились курсы русского языка как иностранного для сотрудников Музея с миграционным опытом. Эти курсы стали важным шагом для нашего личного понимания инклюзии и разнообразия.

Сейчас деятельность отдела в данном направлении можно разделить на внутреннюю и внешнюю; на работу с людьми с опытом миграции и без. Внутренняя работа включает в себя продолжение проведения языковых курсов для сотрудников, но уже более широком формате — помимо изучения русского языка, сюда также входят знакомство с российской культурой и ее историей, посещение московских культурных институций, проведение дискуссий, посвященных вопросам современной миграции. Внешняя — это работа с аудиторией «Гаража», которая включает в себя различные форматы — лекции, дискуссии, воркшопы, конференции, тренинги, подкасты, фестивали и игры.

В первые два года после запуска направления мы уделяли много времени освещению разных аспектов миграции и вынужденного переселения. По большей части целевой аудиторией этого этапа развития программ стали люди без опыта внешней миграции. Для нас было важно создать поле для диалога, чтобы дестигматизировать людей с миграционным опытом, а также популяризировать знания об этнокультурном разнообразии. Одним из важных проектов первого этапа — этапа дестигматизации — стал ежегодный межмузейный фестиваль «Точка перемещения», приуроченный к Всемирному дню беженца.

На 2021–2022 годы запланирован запуск экскурсий на узбекском, киргизском и таджикском языках, проведение стажировок для подростков с опытом вынужденного переселения, а также развитие профессиональной программы — подготовка экскурсоводов-носителей среднеазитаских языков. Для нас важно, чтобы посетители Музея могли получать информацию на том языке, на котором им было бы предпочтительнее.

Мы продолжаем развивать детские и подростковые программы для всех желающих вне зависимости от наличия или отсутствия у них опыта миграции. Любой ребенок и подросток и его родители смогут найти для себя мероприятия в Музее, которые формируются с учетом разных запросов и интересов.

Наша работа выстраивается не только в рамках публичных программ Музея, но и профессиональных. Так, одна из ежегодных конференций «Музей ощущений» была посвящена вопросам взаимодействия культурных институций с людьми с опытом миграции и вынужденного переселения. А в 2020 году мы взяли на себя ответственность и в рамках курса по основам работы с людьми с опытом миграции и вынужденного переселения выпустили 15 специалистов в области создания просветительских проектов с учетом этнокультурного разнообразия.

Разные инструменты работы с темой миграции и с людьми с релевантным опытом направлены на достижение нашей главной цели — создания комфортных условий для посещения Музея индивидуальным посетителем.


Актуальные ссылки:

  1. Курс по основам работы с людьми с опытом миграции и вынужденного переселения

Поделиться

Книги «Гаража»