Registration
Registration

Presentation of Nahum Kleiman's book Studies on Eisenstein and Pushkin

Date

From 14 December 2022

Schedule

19:00

Place

Garage Auditorium
Presentation of Nahum Kleiman's book <i>Studies on Eisenstein and Pushkin</i>Presentation of Nahum Kleiman's book <i>Studies on Eisenstein and Pushkin</i>

DESCRIPTION

Sergei Eisenstein’s films Battleship Potemkin and Ivan the Terrible, which are covered in the first two sections of Studies on Eisenstein and Pushkin, are classics of world cinema.

They are the subject of numerous books and articles in various languages. There is an entire library of research and commentary on Alexander Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin, the work which Kleiman analyzes in the third chapter. While studying past and present researchers, he has tried to work directly with the texts of these classic works, including drafts as well as the final versions, and with the documents and evidence surrounding them.

The book presentation will take the form of a discussion. Alongside Naum Kleiman will be film historian and translator Natalya Ryabchikova and literary historian Ekaterina Lyamina. Together they will discuss the importance of Eisenstein’s discoveries and reflections in our time (the era of digital cinema and streaming, the global and the local, the age of post-colonialism); how to take a contemporary look at classic and canonical works and names, and the reconsideration of canons; the trajectory of Eisenstein’s practice and theory from Battleship Potemkin to Ivan the Terrible; and the publication of archives and what they can tell us.

On December 14, Garage Shop will be offering 10% discount on the book Studies on Eisenstein and Pushkin.

SPEAKERS

Naum Kleiman is a film historian. He has written books and articles on the theory and history of cinema and is a specialist in the work of Sergei Eisenstein. From 1992 to 2014 he was director of the State Central Film Museum and the Eisenstein Center in Moscow.

Natalya Ryabchikova, Ph.D. is a film historian and translator. She is scientific editor of the film scholars’ co-op 1895.io, editor of the journal Iskusstvo kino, and a lecturer in the School of Design of the Higher School of Economics. She compiled the books Sergei Eisenstein. Behind the Shot. Key Works of Film Theory and Ivan the Terrible. Eisenstein’s Chronicles.

Ekaterina Lyamina is a literary historian. She holds a Candidate of Philological Sciences degree and is a professor in the School of Philology of the Humanities Faculty of the Higher School of Economics. Her interests include Russian literature from the late eighteenth century to the early nineteenth century and its diverse contexts: the ideological, historical, and social context of the everyday. She has written and compiled monographs, articles, and reference books and also publishes and researches archives, including the memoirs, diaries, and letters of Russian nobles and members of the imperial family.

HOW TO TAKE PART

Free admission with advance registration.

REGISTRATION

Share

Регистрация
Регистрация

Презентация книги Наума Клеймана «Этюды об Эйзенштейне и Пушкине»

Дата:

С 14 декабря 2022

Расписание

19:00

Место

Лекторий Музея «Гараж»
Презентация книги Наума Клеймана «Этюды об Эйзенштейне и Пушкине»Презентация книги Наума Клеймана «Этюды об Эйзенштейне и Пушкине»

 ОПИСАНИЕ

Фильмы Сергея Эйзенштейна «Броненосец „Потемкин“» и «Иван Грозный», которым посвящены два первых раздела книги «Этюды об Эйзенштейне и Пушкине», вошли в сокровищницу мирового кино — о них написано множество книг и статей на разных языках.

О романе Александра Сергеевича Пушкина «Евгений Онегин» — его автор анализирует в третьей главе — существует целая библиотека исследований и комментариев. Киновед Наум Клейман работал над собранными в издании аналитическими этюдами на протяжении пяти десятилетий. Учась у предшествующих и современных исследователей, он в то же время старался обращаться напрямую к текстам классических произведений — не только к завершенным, но и к черновым вариантам, а также к окружающим их документам и свидетельствам.  

Презентация книги пройдет в формате дискуссии. Вместе с Наумом Ихильевичем выступят киновед, историк кино и переводчик Наталья Рябчикова и филолог, историк литературы Екатерина Лямина. Участники поговорят о важности открытий и размышлений Эйзенштейна в наше время — эру цифрового кино и стримингов, глобального и локального, эпоху постколониализма; об актуализации классических и канонических произведений и имен, а также о пересмотре канонов; о траектории практики и теории Эйзенштейна от «Броненосца Потёмкина» к «Ивану Грозному»; о публикации архивов и о том, что они могут нам рассказать.

14 декабря в магазине Музея «Гараж» действует скидка 10% на книгу «Этюды об Эйзенштейне и Пушкине»

СПИКЕРЫ

Наум Клейман — киновед, историк кино. Автор книг и статей по теории и истории кино, специалист по творчеству Сергея Эйзенштейна. С 1992 по 2014 год — директор Государственного центрального музея кино и Эйзенштейн-центра в Москве. 

Наталья Рябчикова — киновед, историк кино, переводчик. Доктор философии (PhD). Научный редактор киноведческой артели 1895.io, редактор журнала «Искусство кино», преподаватель Школы дизайна НИУ ВШЭ. Составитель книг «Сергей Эйзенштейн. За кадром. Ключевые работы по теории кино» и «Иван Грозный. Хроники Эйзенштейна». 

Екатерина Лямина — филолог, историк литературы. Кандидат филологических наук, профессор Школы филологии факультета гуманитарных наук НИУ ВШЭ. В области интересов — русская литература конца XVIII — первой половины XIX века и ее многообразные контексты: идеологический, исторический, социальный, контекст повседневности и т. д. Автор и составитель монографий, статей, справочных изданий, публикатор и исследователь архивов: мемуаров, дневников и писем русских дворян и членов императорского дома.

ПОСЕЩЕНИЕ

Вход свободный по предварительной регистрации

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Поделиться