BUY TICKETS
BUY TICKETS

Premiere: The All-Round Reduced Personality

Date

From 27 January 2022

Schedule

19:30–22:00

Place

Garage Auditorium
Premiere: The All-Round Reduced PersonalityPremiere: The All-Round Reduced Personality

 

Reproductive labor and artistic production in one of New German Cinema’s most striking feminist films.

The Russian premiere of the restored version of the film will take place in the Museum’s auditorium. Before the screening, Sasha Puchkova and Dasha Trofimova will discuss the precarious labor of female artists.

Based in West Berlin, freelance photographer Edda Chiemnyjewski must earn at least 3,000 marks a month to support herself and her daughter Dorothea. At some point, Edda's community of women photographers receives a government grant to support female artists. But the eventual shots of the Berlin Wall that critique the division of the city and the country in two seem to officials to be inappropriate and not relevant to the “women’s question,” putting the project at risk and forcing Edda to rethink her relationship with institutions in power. A sarcastic semi-documentary essay on the position of female artists in society, Helke Sander's feature-length debut premiered at the 1978 Berlin Film Festival, where it won a Forum award.

In this prophetic story of the hardships of precarious work—“no sick leave and four years without a vacation”—Helke Sander, with rare shrewdness even by today's standards, exposes the hypocrisy and sexism inherent in the arts. The film depicts the entire infrastructure for the production of an artistic image, from the shooting process to developing, printing, and publishing photographs in the press, often without attribution or paying a fee. It even mentions the cost of photographic paper, voiced, in Brechtian fashion, by a deadpan narrator. Using this gimmick, and also starring as Edda, Sander looks at her work from the outside and comes to unfavorable conclusions.

Any attempts to make a more general political statement that transcends the “women’s question” are nipped in the bud: the female protagonists appear as “all-round reduced personalities,” placed for convenience in a particular niche and unable to leave it. The giant banners on which they print the images of the Berlin Wall are understood as advertisements, and curious tourists don’t get the ironic gesture of installing a theater curtain on an observation deck overlooking East Berlin either. But this does not mean that the heroines stop making the wall (so mundane that people prefer not to notice it) the subject of their photographs. Likewise, Sander never ceases to expose their problems, creating one of the smartest (and undeservedly forgotten) feminist documents of its time.

The film will be screened in German with Russian subtitles.

Dir. Helke Sander
Germany, 1978. 98 min. 16+

PARTICIPANTS

Sasha Puchkova is an artist working with various media and performative experiment. Her interests include the plasticity of building the laws of communication, the body in the digital space, artificial synesthesia, decolonial practices, and the formation of collectivity. She is the initiator of the projects Syntaxis (a series of performances and a laboratory), (im) possible-object (a platform for projects with a temporal basis), and Capture Map (a performative project and platform for knowledge transfer). She was a member of the group Speculative Practices of Body Mutations, is a resident of PROGR Center (Bern, Switzerland), and participated in the curatorial course What Could Should Curating Do? (Belgrade, Serbia). She lives and works in Moscow.


 

Dasha Trofimova is a multidisciplinary artist working with photography, sound, video, and installation. In her practice, she focuses on the themes of violence, memory, migration, and the search for identity in the post-Soviet space. She is a graduate of Rodchenko Art School, Moscow (2013–2017). She lives and works in Moscow.

tickets

Standard: 350 rubles
Student: 250 rubles*

BUY TICKET

 GARAGE cardholders: 175 RUB**

Tickets for seniors, veterans, large families, under 18s, and visitors with disabilities (with one carer): 175 RUB**

We recommend that you buy tickets in advance. All ticket categories are available online.

* Students aged 18–25 on production of relevant ID
** Please show proof of eligibility at the cinema entrance

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ
КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ

Премьера «Всесторонне ограниченная личность»

Дата:

С 27 января 2022

Расписание

19:30–22:00

Место

Лекторий Музея «Гараж»
Премьера «Всесторонне ограниченная личность»Премьера «Всесторонне ограниченная личность»

 

Репродуктивный труд и художественное производство в одной из ярчайших феминистских картин нового немецкого кино.

В лектории Музея состоится российская премьера отреставрированной версии фильма. Перед показом Саша Пучкова и Даша Трофимова обсудят прекарный труд художниц.

Живущая в Западном Берлине фотограф-фрилансерка Эдда Чимниевски должна зарабатывать как минимум три тысячи марок в месяц, чтобы обеспечивать себя и свою дочь Доротею. В какой-то момент сообщество фотографок, где состоит Эдда, получает правительственный грант в рамках поддержки художников-женщин. Но итоговые снимки — кадры Берлинской стены, проблематизирующие разделение города и страны надвое, — кажутся чиновникам неуместными и не раскрывающими «женский» вопрос. Это ставит проект под угрозу и заставляет Эдду переосмыслить свои отношения с властными институциями. Премьера полнометражного дебюта Хельке Зандер — саркастического полудокументального эссе о положении художниц в обществе — состоялась на Берлинском кинофестивале 1978 года, где фильм был удостоен награды секции «Форум».

В этой пророческой картине о тяготах прекарного труда — «без больничного и четыре года без отпуска» — Хельке Зандерс с редкой даже по сегодняшним меркам проницательностью разоблачает лицемерие и сексизм, свойственные индустрии искусств. В фильме отображена вся инфраструктура производства художественного образа — от непосредственной съемки до проявки и печати фотографий и их публикации в прессе — зачастую без указания авторства и без выплаты гонорара. Учтена даже стоимость фотобумаги — ее по-брехтовски озвучивает бесстрастная рассказчица. Используя этот прием, а также лично исполняя роль Эдды, Зандер смотрит на свой труд со стороны — и приходит к неутешительным выводам.

Любые попытки сделать более общее политическое высказывание, которое касалось бы не только «женского» вопроса, пресекаются на корню — фотографки предстают «всесторонне ограниченными личностями», помещенными для удобства в определенную нишу и не имеющими возможности покинуть ее. Гигантские баннеры, на которых они печатают снимки Берлинской стены, воспринимаются как ее реклама, а иронический жест — размещение театрального занавеса на смотровой площадке с видом на Восточный Берлин — не считывается любопытными туристами. Но это не значит, что героини перестают делать стену (настолько обыденную, что люди предпочитают ее не замечать) предметом своих фотографий. Равно как и Зандер не перестает придавать видимость их проблемам, создав один из самых остроумных и незаслуженно забытых феминистских документов своего времени.

Фильм демонстрируется на немецком языке с русскими субтитрами.

Режиссерка Хельке Зандер
ФРГ, 1978. 98 мин.

УЧАСТНИКИ

Саша Пучкова — художница. Работает с различными медиа и перформативным экспериментом. Среди интересов — пластичность построения законов коммуникации, тело в цифровом пространстве, искусственная синестезия, деколониальные практики, формирование коллективности. Инициатор проектов «Синтаксис» (серия перформансов, лаборатория), (Im)-possible object (площадка для проектов, имеющих под собой темпоральную основу), Capture Map (перформативный проект и платформа передачи знания). Была участницей группы «Спекулятивные практики телесных мутаций». Резидент центра PROGR (Берн, Швейцария), участница кураторского курса What Could Should Curating Do? (Белград, Сербия). Живет и работает в Москве.


 

Даша Трофимова — мультидисциплинарный художник, работает с фотографией, звуком, видео и инсталляцией. В своих работах она фокусируется на темах насилия, памяти, миграции и поиска идентичности в постсоветском пространстве. Выпускница Школы фотографии и мультимедиа им. Родченко (2013–2017). Живет и работает в Москве.

БИЛЕТЫ

Стоимость билета — 350 рублей
Студенческий билет — 250 рублей*

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ

 Билет для владельцев карт GARAGE — 175 рублей**

Билет для пенсионеров, ветеранов, многодетных семей, детей до 18, посетителей с инвалидностью, одного сопровождающего посетителя с инвалидностью — 175 рублей*

Рекомендуем покупать билеты заранее. Билеты всех категорий доступны для покупки онлайн.

* Студенты в возрасте от 18 до 25 лет при предъявлении соответствующих документов
** При предъявлении соответствующих документов при входе в кинотеатр