Nikolay Karabinovych. Opalima Kupina (Burnt Bush) Detective Agency

Nikolay Karabinovych. <i>Opalima Kupina (Burnt Bush) Detective Agency</i>Nikolay Karabinovych. <i>Opalima Kupina (Burnt Bush) Detective Agency</i>

Inspired by a fragment from Philosophy, a novel by the Russian futurist poet Ilya Zdanevich, artist Nikolay Karabinovych has created the Opalima Kupina (Burnt Bush) Detective Agency, which investigates the history of the Jewish community in Turkey, the boundaries of the Pale of Settlement, and other migratory processes.

The Opalima Kupina (Burnt Bush) Detective Agency launched in 2021 in Kyiv. It was founded not by a single detective but by a team of secret service employees from various Warsaw Pact states. It also employs other experts in the field of detective work: artists, psychologists, analysts, lawyers, and IT professionals. Of course, there are detectives on the books. Kyiv is not the only city where they work.

The geographical focus of the agency is the 41st parallel and the 30th meridian.

The agency is investigating a number of episodes that took place from 1859 to 1922. Its goals include the integration of different histories; a review of the notions of “the global South,” “the East,” and “the Pale of Settlement;” the development of an agent network; and the presentation of its activity in the form of exhibitions.

Here are some of the key words people use most often when in contact with our agency: 

  • Frightening discoveries, erasing obstacles to display;
  • Overcoming social distance;
  • Export ban on the produce of the empire;
  • Various kidnappers;
  • Which artifacts should be returned to whom?;
  • Work by an anonymous artist;
  • Doubling meanings;
  • Assimilations and hybridisations;
  • The eerie erotic.

Share

Николай Карабинович «Детективное агентство “Опалимая купина”»

Николай Карабинович «Детективное агентство “Опалимая купина”» Николай Карабинович «Детективное агентство “Опалимая купина”»

Вдохновившись фрагментом из романа поэта-футуриста Ильи Зданевича «Философия», художник Николай Карабинович создает детективное агентство «Опалимая купина», занимающееся расследованием истории еврейской общины в Турции, границами черты оседлости и другими миграционными процессами.

Детективное агентство «Опалимая купина» начало свою работу в 2021 году в Киеве. Основал его не просто один сыщик, а целая команда сотрудников секретных ведомств и служб стран — участниц Варшавского договора. В агентстве трудятся и другие специалисты в области оперативно-сыскной деятельности: художники и художницы, психологи, аналитики, юристы, мастера информационных технологий. Конечно, в штате находятся и детективы. Киев — не единственный город, в котором они трудятся.

Географический фокус агентства расположен по 41 градусу и вдоль 30 меридиана.

Агентство занимается расследованием ряда эпизодов, произошедших в период с 1859 по 1922 год. Целями деятельности агентства является объединение различных историй, пересмотр понятий «глобального юга», «востока», и «черты оседлости», развертывание агентурной сети и презентация деятельности в формате выставок.  

Вот несколько ключевых слов, по которым чаще всего обращаются в наше агентство: 

  • Пугающие открытия, стирание препятствий дисплея; 
  • Преодоление социальной дистанции; 
  • Запрет на экспорт продуктов империи; 
  • Всевозможные похитители; 
  • Кому какие артефакты возвращать?; 
  • Работа неизвестного художника; 
  • Удваивающиеся смыслы; 
  • Ассимиляции и гибридизации; 
  • Зловещая эротика.

Поделиться