Lecture series by Anna Bronovitskaya. Architects of the Turn of the Millennium

Date

From 22 November 2021 to 18 April 2022

Schedule

19:30–21:00

Place

Online
Lecture series by Anna Bronovitskaya. Architects of the Turn of the MillenniumLecture series by Anna Bronovitskaya. Architects of the Turn of the Millennium

DESCRIPTION

 

Architectural historian Anna Bronovitskaya’s new lecture series will focus on architects whose careers culminated in the late twentieth, early twenty-first centuries. Each lecture centers around the creative path of the cycle’s protagonists as well as their most significant projects.

ABOUT THE LECTURER

Anna Bronovitskaya is an architectural historian, director of research at Moscow’s Institute of Modernism. Author of multiple publications on twentieth-century architecture.

Together with Nikolai Malinin and photographer Yuri Palmin, Anna is working on a series of guidebooks on Soviet modernist architecture. Following the release of the books on the architecture of Moscow and Alma-ata of 1955–1991, in 2021 Garage will publish the third guidebook in the series, Leningrad: Soviet Modernist Architecture 1955–1991.

HOW TO TAKE PART

Free admission with advance registration.

The lectures will be broadcast on Garage YouTube channel.

Stream

Here we’ve put together materials to help you get ready for a visit to the Museum or to take a deep dive into the current programs at Garage.

Schedule

Frank Gehry

Frank Gehry (b. 1929, Toronto) is best known as the author of complex curvilinear buildings, created using specially developed software. His select projects include the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, the Louis Vuitton Foundation in Paris, etc. He is the 1989 Pritzker Prize recipient. The lecture will expose Gehry's working method and analyze the experimentations that boosted the architect’ creative boom late in his career.

REGISTRATION

Date
November 22, Monday
Time
19:30–21:00
Place
Garage Education Center

Renzo Piano

Born into a family of hereditary masons, Renzo Piano (b. 1937, Genoa) began exploring the design possibilities of other materials in his practice, finding unusual applications for metal and plastics. Having gained recognition for the Centre Pompidou building in Paris, designed in collaboration with Richard Rogers, Piano remains one of the most sought-after architects of museum spaces. His recent projects include the GES-2 House of Culture in Moscow.

REGISTRATION

Date
Monday, December 6
Time
19:30–21:00
Place
Garage Auditorium

Norman Foster

The architectural firm of Norman Foster (b. 1935, Manchester), Foster + Partners, which currently employs 1,400 people, is often called a project factory, even though the factory’s products are always one-of-a-kind. Foster's high-tech buildings are erected on four continents frequently becoming international architectural highlights. In Russia, after Foster’s Project Orange and Crystal Island were abandoned in Moscow, the construction of the Russian Copper Company headquarters designed by the bureau was completed in Yekaterinburg in 2020.

REGISTRATION

Date
Monday, December 13
Time
19:30–21:00
Place
Garage Auditorium

Share

Цикл лекций Анны Броновицкой «Архитекторы рубежа тысячелетий»

Дата:

С 22 ноября 2021 по 18 апреля 2022

Расписание

19:30–21:00

Место

Онлайн
Цикл лекций Анны Броновицкой «Архитекторы рубежа тысячелетий»Цикл лекций Анны Броновицкой «Архитекторы рубежа тысячелетий»

ОПИСАНИЕ

Новый лекционный цикл историка архитектуры Анны Броновицкой посвящен архитекторам, наиболее ярко реализовавшим себя в конце XX — начале XXI веков. В центре каждой лекции — творческий путь одного из героев цикла и его важнейшие проекты.

О ЛЕКТОРЕ

Анна Броновицкая — историк архитектуры, директор по исследованиям Института модернизма. Автор многочисленных публикаций по архитектуре XX века. 

В сотрудничестве с Николаем Малининым и фотографом Юрием Пальминым Анна работает над серией справочников-путеводителей об архитектуре советского модернизма. Вслед за книгами, посвященными архитектуре 1955–1991 годов в Москве и Алма-Ате, в 2021 году Музей современного искусства выпустит третью: «Ленинград. Архитектура советского модернизма. 1955–1991».

ПОСЕЩЕНИЕ

Вход свободный по предварительной регистрации.

Лекции транслируются на YouTube-канале Музея «Гараж»

Поток

Здесь собраны материалы, которые помогут подготовиться к походу в Музей или погрузиться в темы текущих выставок и программ «Гаража».

Расписание

Фрэнк Гери

Фрэнк Гери (род. 1929, Торонто) известен как автор зданий сложных криволинейных форм, созданных с применением специально разработанного программного обеспечения. Среди его проектов — Музей Гуггенхайма в Бильбао, концертный зал Уолта Диснея в Лос-Анджелесе, Фонд Louis Vuitton в Париже и др. Лауреат Притцкеровской премии 1989 года. На лекции будет раскрыт рабочий подход Гери и проанализированы эксперименты, которые привели архитектора к творческому буму на позднем этапе карьеры.

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Дата:
22 ноября, понедельник
Время
19:30–21:00
Место
Образовательный центр Музея «Гараж»

Ренцо Пьяно

Выходец из семьи потомственных каменщиков Ренцо Пьяно (род. 1937, Генуя) в своей практике стал исследовать конструктивные возможности других материалов, находя необычное применение металлу и пластику. Прославившись зданием Центра Помпиду в Париже, спроектированным им вместе с Ричардом Роджерсом, Пьяно до сих пор остается одним из наиболее востребованных проектировщиков музейных пространств. Среди его последних проектов — Дом культуры ГЭС-2 в Москве.

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Дата:
6 декабря, понедельник
Время
19:30–21:00
Место
Лекторий Музея «Гараж»

Норман Фостер

Бюро Нормана Фостера (род. 1935, Манчестер) Foster + Partners, где сейчас трудится 1400 человек, называют фабрикой проектов, но продукция этой фабрики всегда штучная. Высокотехнологичные здания Фостера строятся на четырех континентах и часто становятся событиями архитектурной жизни. В России, после несостоявшихся «Апельсина» и «Хрустального острова» в Москве, в 2020 году завершилось строительство спроектированной бюро штаб-квартиры «Русской медной компании» в Екатеринбурге.

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Дата:
13 декабря, понедельник
Время
19:30–21:00
Место
Лекторий Музея «Гараж»

Поделиться