Inclusive discussion club accompanying the exhibition by Thomas Demand Mirror Without Memory.

Date
24 Nov 202126 Jan 2022
Schedule
19:30–20:00
Place
Garage Museum of Contemporary Art
Inclusive discussion club accompanying the exhibition by Thomas Demand Mirror Without Memory.Inclusive discussion club accompanying the exhibition by Thomas Demand Mirror Without Memory.

DESCRIPTION

The experimental format of inclusive discussion club meetings will help visually impaired and sighted visitors open new perspectives on the artist’s work.

As part of the Mirror Without Memory exhibition, participants of the inclusive discussion club will use tactile sensations and audio descriptions to get acquainted with the works of artist Thomas Demand, as well as selected works created by filmmaker and writer Alexander Kluge and the SANAA architectural firm.

The core of the show is the oeuvre of contemporary German artist Thomas Demand, who works at the intersection of a variety of mediums, with a particular focus on sculpture and photography. Like the 1920s’ constructivists, the artist employs paper models and photographs to carefully construct a new concept of reality, aiming to distance it from any contexts and ideologies.

Participants will discuss to what extent events and objects, processed through the camera lens, are real and true; how our experience, memory, and perception are constructed; whether it is possible to verify the accuracy of the information in the videos and photo reports published in the media. Looking for answers to these and other questions, they will discuss the works of Thomas Demand and other artists while also practicing the making of audio descriptions—verbal descriptions of the artworks’ visual component.

Each meeting is dedicated to a specified topic and related works.

The discussion is moderated by cultural scholar and mediator Maria Galkina and her blind co-host, Larisa Ovtsynova.

The audio descriptions were developed by Sofia Lukyanova, Garage Inclusive Programs manager.

ABOUT THE HOSTS

Larisa Ovtsynova is a massage therapist, audio description teacher, correspondent at the Osoby Vzglyad online resource, screenwriter and host of art events at the Cultural and Sports Rehabilitation Complex of the All-Russian Society of the Blind, and an actress in the Sovpadenie creative duo.

Maria Galkina is a cultural scholar, art critic, and mediator. She is a researcher of Russian art of the twentieth century and contemporary cultural practices. Author of inclusive programs for the visually impaired and blind, Galinka is a freelancer at the State Tretyakov Gallery and Garage Museum of Contemporary Art.

How to take part

 

Free admission with advance registration and QR code.

Schedule

Reconstructing Memory

How does memory reproduce the vague images of social and political events broadcast in the media? Can an artist act as a storyteller who forms the experience? How do external events affect one’s personal biography? Resulting from his reflections on archives and photographic objectivity, Thomas Demand’s works oscillate somewhere between an illusory simulacrum and a document. During the meeting, the participants will discuss the artist's creative method, his principle of selecting plots, and analyze what event stands behind each of the works selected within the thematic framework of the discussion.

REGISTRATION

Date
Wednesday, November 24
Time
19:00–20:00
Place
Garage Museum of Contemporary Art
Mailing list

Инклюзивный дискуссионный клуб в рамках выставки Томаса Деманда «Зеркало без памяти»

Дата:

С 24 ноября 2021 по 26 января 2022

Расписание

19:30–20:00

Место

Музей «Гараж»
Инклюзивный дискуссионный клуб в рамках выставки Томаса Деманда «Зеркало без памяти»Инклюзивный дискуссионный клуб в рамках выставки Томаса Деманда «Зеркало без памяти»

ОПИСАНИЕ

Экспериментальный формат встреч инклюзивного дискуссионного клуба, доступного для слабовидящих и незрячих посетителей, позволяет открыть новые грани в творчестве художника.

В рамках выставки «Зеркало без памяти» участники инклюзивного дискуссионного клуба познакомятся с работами художника Томаса Деманда, а также с некоторыми произведениями режиссера и писателя Александра Клуге и архитектурного бюро SANAA, используя тактильные ощущения и вербальное описание.

В центре выставки — творчество современного немецкого автора Томаса Деманда, работающего на стыке различных медиумов, в частности скульптуры и фотоискусства. Подобно конструктивистам 1920-х годов, с помощью бумажных макетов и фотографий художник тщательно выстраивает новую концепцию реальности, пытаясь отделить ее от контекстов и идеологий.

Участники обсудят, насколько реальны и правдивы события и предметы, пропущенные через объектив фотокамеры; как конструируется наш опыт, память и восприятие; можно ли проверить достоверность информации в публикуемых видео и фоторепортажах средств массовой информации. В поисках ответов на эти и другие вопросы они обсудят произведения Томаса Деманда и других художников. Помимо этого, посетители попробуют себя в тифлокомментировании — словесном описании визуальной части произведений.

Каждая встреча посвящена определенной теме и связанным с ней работам.

Обсуждение модерируется культурологом и медиатором Марией Галкиной и незрячей соведущей Ларисой Овцыновой.

Тифлокомментарии разработаны менеджером инклюзивных программ Музея «Гараж» Софьей Лукьяновой.

О ВЕДУЩИХ

Лариса Овцынова — незрячий тифлопедагог, массажист, корреспондент портала «Особый взгляд», сценарист и ведущая художественных мероприятий Культурно-cпортивного реабилитационного комплекса Всероссийского общества слепых, актриса творческого дуэта «Совпадение».

Мария Галкина — культуролог, искусствовед, медиатор. Исследователь русского искусства XX века и современных культурных практик. Автор инклюзивных программ для слабовидящих и незрячих. Внештатный сотрудник Государственной Третьяковской галереи и Музея современного искусства «Гараж». 

Посещение

Вход свободный по предварительной регистрациипри и наличии QR-кода.

Расписание

Реконструкция памяти

Как зыбкие образы общественно-политических событий, транслируемые через СМИ, воспроизводятся в памяти? Может ли художник выступать в роли рассказчика, формирующего опыт? Как внешние события отражаются на личной биографии? В результате размышлений об архиве и фотографической объективности произведения Томаса Деманда колеблются между иллюзорным симулякром и документом. На встрече участники обсудят творческий метод художника, его принцип отбора сюжетов и проанализируют, какое событие стоит за каждой из представленных в рамках темы работ.

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Дата:
24 ноября, среда
Время
19:00–20:00
Место
Музей «Гараж»