Film screening: Yesterday Girl

Film screening: Yesterday GirlFilm screening: Yesterday Girl

 

A tragicomic story of a girl without qualities, Yesterday Girl marked the emergence of New German Cinema.

The screening will be preceded by a brief introductory lecture on New German Cinema as a movement in film history delivered by film critic and researcher Mikhail Ratgauz. The film will be shown with an audio description.

Anita G., 22, flees East Germany for West Germany, where she is immediately caught stealing. She fails in her further attempts to integrate into society: the career options available to an uneducated girl are extremely limited. Wandering around the country with a suitcase, Anita works as a maid and as a record salesgirl before becoming the mistress of a ministerial advisor and trying to learn to live anew in this inhospitable but attractive country. Alexander Kluge’s feature-length debut, one of the earliest New German Cinema films, premiered at the 1966 Venice Film Festival, where it was awarded the Silver Lion.

A charming yet relentless movie by Alexander Kluge, a key figure in contemporary German film and literature, Yesterday Girl is an adaptation of his own short story, Anita G. Synthesizing the developments of the new European waves—British, French, and Czechoslovakian—Kluge breaks with previous cinematic tradition in favor of a moving camera, impressionistic black-and-white time lapse, and flexible editing. The director of cinematography and co-author of the film’s visual solution is Edgar Reitz, an eminent filmmaker in his own right and creator of the landmark TV series Heimat (1984–2013).

Like many subsequent New German Cinema pictures, Yesterday Girl is imbued with a Brechtian spirit, with its titles featuring ironic texts that comment on the narration and defamiliarize the viewer. Kluge's critical optics is aimed primarily at men patronizing and instructing Anita in every possible way: her practical mind is opposed to university professors asking whether she speaks French and knows the works of Weber. Men pass the beautiful Anita from hand to hand like a doll, until she has no choice but to go into voluntary exile. Coincidentally, the lead actress—the director's sister, Alexandra Kluge (1937–2017), who won a number of prestigious awards for Yesterday Girl—abandoned acting to pursue a career as a doctor.

The film will be screened in German with Russian subtitles and an audio description for blind and visually impaired visitors.

The audio description was prepared by Garage Inclusive Programs department and the Garage Screen team.

Dir. Alexander Kluge
Germany, 1966. 88 min. 18+

tickets

Standard: 350 rubles
Student: 250 rubles*

BUY TICKETS

 GARAGE cardholders: 175 RUB**

Tickets for seniors, veterans, large families, under 18s, and visitors with disabilities (with one carer): 175 RUB**

We recommend that you buy tickets in advance. All ticket categories are available online.

* Students aged 18–25 on production of relevant ID
** Please show proof of eligibility at the cinema entrance

BUY TICKETS
BUY TICKETS
Mailing list

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ
КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ

Кинопоказ «Прощание с прошлым»

Дата:

С 22 января 2022

Расписание

18:30–21:00

Место

Лекторий Музея «Гараж»
Кинопоказ «Прощание с прошлым»Кинопоказ «Прощание с прошлым»

 

Трагикомедия о девушке без свойств, возвестившая о начале нового немецкого кино.

Перед показом краткую вступительную лекцию о новом немецком кино как направлении прочитает кинокритик, исследователь кино Михаил Ратгауз. Фильм будет показан с тифлокомментарием.

22-летняя Анита Г. бежит из Восточной Германии в Западную и тут же попадается на мелком воровстве. Дальнейшие попытки устроиться в обществе оборачиваются провалом: карьерный диапазон, доступный девушке без образования, крайне ограничен. Скитаясь с чемоданом по ФРГ, Анита работает горничной и продавщицей пластинок, пока не становится содержанкой при министерском советнике, пытаясь научиться жить заново в негостеприимной, но такой манящей стране. Премьера полнометражного дебюта Александра Клуге — одной из первых картин нового немецкого кино, — состоялась на Венецианском кинофестивале 1966 года, где фильм был удостоен «Серебряного льва».

Очаровательный и беспощадный фильм классика современного немецкого кино и литературы Александра Клуге снят по мотивам его собственного рассказа «Анита Г.». Синтезировав наработки новых европейских волн — британской, французской и чехословацкой, — Клуге создал фильм, порвавший с прежней кинематографической традицией в пользу подвижной камеры, импрессионистского черно-белого таймлэпса и гибкой монтажной структуры. Оператором картины и соавтором визуального решения выступил Эдгар Райц — в будущем выдающийся режиссер и создатель эпохального телевизионного проекта «Родина» (1984–2013).

Как и многие последующие картины нового немецкого кино, «Прощание с прошлым» выдержано в брехтианском ключе: титры с ироническим текстом типа «От прошлого нас отделяет не ров, а смена обстановки» комментируют и остраняют повествование. Критическая оптика Клуге нацелена в первую очередь на мужчин, всячески опекающих и наставляющих Аниту: ее практичный ум («Никто не может научиться не учиться», — заключает в какой-то момент она) противопоставлен университетским преподавателям, спрашивающим, знает ли она французский и знакома ли с сочинениями Вебера. Мужчины передают красивую Аниту из рук в руки, как куклу, пока ей не остается ничего, кроме как уйти в добровольное изгнание. По совпадению исполнительница главной роли — сестра режиссера, Александра Клуге (1937–2017), получившая за «Прощание с прошлым» несколько престижных наград — также ушла из актерской профессии, предпочтя ей карьеру врача.

Фильм демонстрируется на немецком языке с русскими субтитрами, а также тифлокомментарием для незрячих и слабовидящих.

Тифлокомментарии подготовлены отделом инклюзивных программ Музея «Гараж» и командой Garage Screen.

Режиссер Александр Клуге
ФРГ, 1966. 88 мин.

БИЛЕТЫ

Стоимость билета — 350 рублей
Студенческий билет — 250 рублей*

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

 Билет для владельцев карт GARAGE — 175 рублей**

Билет для пенсионеров, ветеранов, многодетных семей, детей до 18, посетителей с инвалидностью, одного сопровождающего посетителя с инвалидностью — 175 рублей*

Рекомендуем покупать билеты заранее. Билеты всех категорий доступны для покупки онлайн.

* Студенты в возрасте от 18 до 25 лет при предъявлении соответствующих документов
** При предъявлении соответствующих документов при входе в кинотеатр