Buy tickets
Buy tickets

Film screening: The Other Side of Hope

Date

From 7 August 2022

Schedule

18:00–20:00

Place

Garage Auditorium
Film screening: <i>The Other Side of Hope</i>Film screening: <i>The Other Side of Hope</i>

DESCRIPTION

A modern fairy tale from renowned Finnish director Aki Kaurismäki about a Syrian migrant who tries to find refuge in Helsinki.

After losing their entire family during the war in Syria, Khaled and his sister are now trying to get into Europe illegally. Their paths tragically diverge when crossing the border. Khaled ends up in Finland, where he tries to get asylum. Fate brings him together with the Finn Wikström, who owns The Golden Pint café in Helsinki. A community of caring people soon forms around the café, who want to help Khaled settle in Europe and reunite with his sister.

Despite references to real-life events, primarily the war in Syria, Kaurismäki's world is timeless: the police use typewriters, music from the past plays in the café, and the film’s visual style combines elements of different eras ranging from the 1960s to the 2000s.

In the fairy-tale, though deeply melancholic, world of Kaurismäki, ethics takes on an almost utopian character: kindness, sympathy, and solidarity overcome hopeless reality, while noble and seemingly obsolete life principles, reminiscent of the films of Jean Vigo and Charlie Chaplin, do not contradict the tragedy of today.

The film will be screened in English, Finnish, Arabic, Swedish, and Japanese with Russian subtitles.

The Other Side of Hope
Dir. Aki Kaurismäki
Finland, Germany, 2017. 100 min. 16+

TICKETS

Standard: 350 rubles
Student: 250 rubles*

BUY TICKETS

GARAGE cardholders: 175 RUB.

Tickets for seniors, veterans, large families, under 18s, and visitors with disabilities (with one carer): 175 RUB**
We recommend that you buy tickets in advance. All ticket categories are available online.

* Students aged 18–25 on production of relevant ID
** Please show proof of eligibility at the cinema entrance

Купить билет
Купить билет

Кинопоказ «По ту сторону надежды»

Дата:

С 7 августа 2022

Расписание

18:00–20:00

Место

Лекторий Музея «Гараж»
Кинопоказ «По ту сторону надежды»Кинопоказ «По ту сторону надежды»

ОПИСАНИЕ

Современная сказка финского классика Аки Каурисмяки о мигранте из Сирии, который пытается найти убежище в Хельсинки. 

Халед и его сестра во время войны в Сирии потеряли всю семью и теперь пытаются нелегально попасть в Европу. Их пути трагически расходятся при пересечении границы. Халед оказывается в Финляндии, где пытается получить убежище. Судьба сводит его с финном Викстремом — владельцем хельсинского кафе «Золотая пинта», вокруг которого вскоре образуется комьюнити неравнодушных, кто хочет помочь Халеду обосноваться в Европе и воссоединиться с сестрой.

Несмотря на отсылки к конкретным реалиям — прежде всего к войне в Сирии, мир Каурисмяки находится в безвременье — полицейские тут пользуются пишущими машинками, в кафе играет музыка из прошлого, а визуальная стилистика фильма содержит в себе элементы разных эпох в диапазоне от 1960-х до 2000-х.

В сказочном, хотя и проникнутом глубинной меланхолией мире Каурисмяки этика приобретает почти утопический характер: доброта, сочувствие и солидарность побеждают безысходную реальность, а благородные и вроде бы ушедшие в небытие жизненные принципы, напоминающие о фильмах Жана Виго и Чарли Чаплина, вовсе не противоречат трагической современности. 

Фильм демонстрируется на английском, финском, арабском, шведском и японском языках с русскими субтитрами.

«По ту сторону надежды»
Режиссер Аки Каурисмяки
Финляндия, Германия, 2017. 100 мин. 16+

БИЛЕТЫ

Стоимость билета — 350 рублей
Студенческий билет — 250 рублей*

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Билет для владельцев карт GARAGE — 175 рублей**

Билет для пенсионеров, ветеранов, многодетных семей, детей до 18, посетителей с инвалидностью, одного сопровождающего посетителя с инвалидностью — 175 рублей**

Рекомендуем покупать билеты заранее. Билеты всех категорий доступны для покупки онлайн.

Поделиться