Buy tickets
Buy tickets

Film Screening: The 400 Blows

Date

From 26 March 2023

Schedule

18:00–19:40

Place

Garage Auditorium
Age limit — 16+

DESCRIPTION

The directorial debut of French film critic François Truffaut stars Jean-Pierre Leo and explores childhood and rebellion against the injustice of adult world. 

Paris in the late 1950s. Antoine Doinel is considered a troubled teen. He and his friend skip school, and his teachers think he’s to blame for everything and punish him for the smallest misdemeanors. One day he is caught stealing a typewriter and sent to a detention center. In fact, he is lonely, and of all the adults in his life only his stepfather offers occasional support. Because of the coldness and indifference of his family and the system, Antoine decides to go on the run.

Antoine’s story was written by Truffaut based on his own biography and childhood memories. The film’s psychological authenticity comes from the way the director gave the child actors space to improvise the script. The teen’s regimented existence in school and at home, and, in contrast, his freedom on the street and in the crowd, was captured by cinematographer Henri Decaë using the traditions of documentary cinema. A former war photographer, he became Jean-Pierre Melville’s regular cinematographer and in many ways defined the visual language of the French new wave. The film was shot in the city’s streets, squares, and apartments rather than in the studio, and the scenes provide the viewer with numerous angles—a participant carefully observing what is happening or a random witness admiring the city from on high. 

Regardless of the ideological differences between Truffaut the film critic and the organizers of the Cannes Film Festival, in 1959 the film was shown there and won the Best Director Award. With its revolutionary dramaturgy and use of visuals, the film was one of the first works of the French new wave and was named one of the best films of all time by Sight & Sound magazine.

The film will be shown in French and English with Russian subtitles.

The 400 Blows
Director François Truffaut
France, 1959, 98 min.
16+

TICKETS

Standard: 350 rubles
Student: 250 rubles*

BUY TICKETS

GARAGE cardholders: 175 RUB.

Tickets for seniors, veterans, large families, under 18s, and visitors with disabilities (with one carer): 175 RUB**

We recommend that you buy tickets in advance. All ticket categories are available online.

* Students aged 18–25 on production of relevant ID
** Please show proof of eligibility at the cinema entrance

Купить билет
Купить билет

Кинопоказ «Четыреста ударов»

Дата:

С 26 марта 2023

Расписание

18:00–19:40

Место

Лекторий Музея «Гараж»
Ограничение по возрасту — 16+

ОПИСАНИЕ

Дебютная картина французского кинокритика Франсуа Трюффо с Жаном-Пьером Лео о детстве и бунте против несправедливости мира взрослых.

Париж, конец 1950-х. Юного Антуана Дуанеля считают трудным подростком. С другом он прогуливает школу, учителя называют его причиной всех бед и наказывают за любую шалость. Однажды его ловят за воровством пишущей машинки и отправляют в исправительное учреждение. На самом деле он одинок, и из всех окружающих Антуана взрослых лишь отчим изредка поддерживает его. Сталкиваясь с холодом и безразличием семьи и системы, Антуан решается на побег.

История Антуана была написана Трюффо на основе его собственной биографии и детских воспоминаний. Психологическая достоверность картины достигается за счет того, что режиссер оставлял детям-актерам пространство для импровизации и реплик вне сценария. Метания подростка, скованность его существования в школе и дома и, наоборот, свободу на улице и в толпе оператор Анри Дэкаэ схватывает в традиции документального кино. В прошлом военный фотограф, он стал постоянным оператором Жана-Пьера Мельвиля и во многом определил визуальный язык французской новой волны. Снятые не в студии, а в живом пространстве городских улиц, площадей и квартир сцены предлагают зрителю множество позиций — то соучастника, безотрывно наблюдающего за сценой, то будто случайного свидетеля, свысока любующегося городом.

Несмотря на идейные разногласия Трюффо-кинокритика и руководства Каннского кинофестиваля, в 1959 году фильмы был представлен именно там и удостоился Золотой пальмовой ветви за лучшую режиссуру. Эта революционная в плане драматургии и изобразительных средств картина стала одним из первых произведений французской новой волны и входит в список лучших фильмов всех времен по версии журнала Sight & Sound.

Фильм демонстрируется на французском и английском языках с русскими субтитрами.

«Четыреста ударов»
Режиссер Франсуа Трюффо
Франция, 1959, 98 мин.
16+

БИЛЕТЫ

Стоимость билета — 350 рублей
Студенческий билет — 250 рублей*

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Билет для владельцев карт GARAGE — 175 рублей**

Билет для пенсионеров, ветеранов, многодетных семей, детей до 18, посетителей с инвалидностью, одного сопровождающего посетителя с инвалидностью — 175 рублей**

Рекомендуем покупать билеты заранее. Билеты всех категорий доступны для покупки онлайн.

* Студенты в возрасте от 18 до 25 лет при предъявлении соответствующих документов
** При предъявлении соответствующих документов

Поделиться