Buy tickets
Buy tickets

Film screening: Cryptozoo

Date

From 13 August 2022

Schedule

18:00–20:00

Place

Garage Auditorium
Film screening: <i>Cryptozoo</i>Film screening: <i>Cryptozoo</i>

DESCRIPTION

An animated drama about the life of cryptids, fantastic beasts with features of animals, people, and mythical creatures who are threatened by ordinary humans.

A loving hippie couple finds refuge in the forest and suddenly discovers Cryptozoo on its border, which looks like both a zoo and a military base. It is inhabited by cryptids—mysterious hybrids of animals, humans, and mythical creatures. This reservation is patrolled by cryptid rights activist Lauren Gray and her colleague Joan, who aims to prove that humans and cryptids can live together.

The question of coexistence with these stranger creatures is decided by people. A special space is created for cryptids, which is safe but also exhibits them. This environment only seems to be inclusive, since it still separates cryptids from the rest of the world and emphasizes their otherness: images of Cryptozoo inhabitants become prototypes for local souvenirs and attractions. The state also exploits and seeks to enslave them, using their skills and specific features in wars and the fight against revolutionaries.

Writer, animator, and author of graphic novels Dash Shaw has created a picturesque story about ethics and human motivations, which is both an allusion to twentieth-century wars and cataclysms and a modern statement about how to live together.

The film will be screened in English with Russian subtitles.

Cryptozoo
Dir. Dash Shaw
USA, 2021. 95 min. 18+

TICKETS

Standard: 350 rubles
Student: 250 rubles*

BUY TICKETS

GARAGE cardholders: 175 RUB.

Tickets for seniors, veterans, large families, under 18s, and visitors with disabilities (with one carer): 175 RUB**
We recommend that you buy tickets in advance. All ticket categories are available online.

* Students aged 18–25 on production of relevant ID
** Please show proof of eligibility at the cinema entrance

Купить билет
Купить билет

Кинопоказ «Криптополис»

Дата:

С 13 августа 2022

Расписание

18:00–20:00

Место

Лекторий Музея «Гараж»
Кинопоказ «Криптополис»Кинопоказ «Криптополис»

ОПИСАНИЕ

Анимационная драма о жизни криптидов — фантастических существ с чертами животных, людей и мифических существ, которым угрожают обычные представители человечества.

Влюбленная пара хиппи находит пристанище в лесу и неожиданно обнаруживает на его границе похожий одновременно на зоопарк и военную базу Криптополис. Там обитают криптиды — загадочные создания, обладающие чертами животных, людей и мифических существ. Эту резервацию патрулирует Лорен Грей, борец за права криптидов, и ее соратница Джоан, пытающаяся доказать, что люди и криптиды могут жить вместе. 

Вопрос о сосуществовании с чужаками решается людьми единолично — для криптидов создается особая площадка, безопасная, но в то же время выставляющая их напоказ. Эта среда лишь кажется инклюзивной, так как она все еще отделяет криптидов от остального мира и акцентирует внимание на их инаковости — образы обитателей Криптополиса становятся прототипами для местных сувениров и аттракционов. Государство тоже не остается в стороне от их эксплуатации и стремится поработить криптидов, используя их умения и особенности в войнах и борьбе с революционерами. 

Дэш Шоу, писатель, автор комиксов и аниматор, создал живописную историю об этике и человеческих мотивациях — это и аллюзия на войны и катаклизмы ХХ века, и современное высказывание о том, как жить вместе. 

Фильм демонстрируется на английском языке с русскими субтитрами.

«Криптополис»
Режиссер Дэш Шоу
США, 2021. 95 мин. 18+

БИЛЕТЫ

Стоимость билета — 350 рублей
Студенческий билет — 250 рублей*

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТЫ

Билет для владельцев карт GARAGE — 175 рублей**

Билет для пенсионеров, ветеранов, многодетных семей, детей до 18, посетителей с инвалидностью, одного сопровождающего посетителя с инвалидностью — 175 рублей**

Рекомендуем покупать билеты заранее. Билеты всех категорий доступны для покупки онлайн.

Поделиться