Book presentation: Anna Kozonina. Strange Dance

Date

From 06 July 2021

Schedule

19:30–21:00
Book presentation: Anna Kozonina. Strange DanceBook presentation: Anna Kozonina. Strange Dance

DESCRIPTION

Garage curator Anastasia Mityushina and independent contemporary dance curator Anastasia Proshutinskaya will discuss with Anna Kozonina her book on contemporary dance in Russia.

The book Strange Dance, so long-awaited by Russian dance lovers, dance artists, choreography researchers, and curators, is finally coming out. The publication by the young researcher of contemporary dance, Anna Kozonina, addresses the unconventional “new” Russian dance of the 2010s. This is the first such attempt to describe and analyze its “origins, values, methods, and institutional situation; to feel its connection with the Western history of dance, while also revealing its specificity.” Although contemporary dance is often associated with “an art in which professional dancers move expressively, conveying thoughts and feelings through movement,” works of contemporary dance artists, created at the intersection of somatic practices and socio-cultural critique, have long transgressed this definition. The book explains in an accessible language the foundations of this “new stage” and provides tools for the analysis of contemporary dance performances.

Strange Dance generates a branched system of coordinates using the terms and events of contemporary dance that will allow the reader to navigate through recent dance practices and understand how the “strange Russian dance” is profoundly different from “conventional” contemporary dance. The consultant-editor of the book is contemporary dance curator Anastasia Proshutinskaya, who has had a hand in the emergence of many “strange dance” productions in 2010s’ Moscow.

During the presentation, Anastasia Mityushina and Anastasia Proshutinskaya will discuss with Anna Kozonina particular dance pieces that have been the most difficult to analyze and the development of “big narratives” dealing with creative strategies, the interpretation space of which is only beginning to form. The speakers will also resume a conversation, begun two years ago, about Russian-language resources on contemporary dance and the vicissitudes of shaping a new language.

PARTICIPANTS

Anna Kozonina is a critic, researcher, and curator in the field of contemporary dance and performance. She reads lectures on dance in museums, theaters, cultural centers in Moscow and St. Petersburg while also curating various education and art projects. She teaches theoretical disciplines at the Bye Bye Ballet Contemporary Dance Center. She is the winner of the 2019 Innovation Prize in the New Generation nomination.


Anastasia Proshutinskaya is a curator and researcher of contemporary dance. She holds a Master of Arts degree in Performance Studies from Southern Illinois University and in Art History from Lomonosov Moscow State University. From 2012 to 2018, she worked at ZIL Cultural Center, where she organized residences for young choreographers and staged new productions. In 2019, Anastasia was on the jury board of the [8: tension] Young Choreographers’ Series section at ImPulsTanz Festival (Vienna).


Anastasia Mityushina is Garage Public Program curator. She graduated in the History and Theory of Art from Lomonosov Moscow State University (2004). Select curatorial projects at Garage: do it Moscow (co-curated with Snejana Krasteva; 2014); SOTA @ Garage School of Performance and Dance (co-curated with Dina Hussein; 2016); Infinite Ear (co-curated with Iaroslav Volovod and Council Group; 2018); field research Dance Cooperative Isadorino Gore: Soviet Gesture (2019–2020); the 2nd Garage Triennial of Russian Contemporary Art (co-curated with Valentin Diaconov; 2021). She has written for the magazines Artkhronika and Moscow Art Magazine (Khudozhestvenny Zhurnal) and the Artguide online resource. She is a visiting lecturer at Moscow’s HSE University and RMA Business School.

HOW TO TAKE PART

Free admission with advance registration.
The discussion will take place online with broadcast available on YouTube.

REGISTRATION

Презентация книги Анны Козониной «Странные танцы»

Дата:

С 06 июля 2021

Расписание

19:30–21:00
Презентация книги Анны Козониной «Странные танцы»Презентация книги Анны Козониной «Странные танцы»

ОПИСАНИЕ

Куратор Музея «Гараж» Анастасия Митюшина и независимый куратор современного танца Анастасия Прошутинская обсудят с Анной Козониной ее книгу о современном танце в России.

«Странные танцы» — книга, которую так долго ждали российские любители танца, танц-художники, исследователи хореографии и кураторы, — наконец выходит в свет. Книга молодой исследовательницы современного танца Анны Козониной обращается к неконвенциональному, «новому» российскому танцу 2010-х. Это первая подобная попытка описать и проанализировать его «истоки, ценности, методы и институциональную ситуацию; нащупать его связь с западной историей танца, но и показать его специфику». Хотя современный танец часто ассоциируется с «искусством, в котором профессиональные танцовщики выразительно двигаются, передавая в движении мысли и чувства», работы современных танц-художников, создающиеся на стыке соматических практик и социально-культурной критики, давно вышли за рамки этого определения. Книга доступным языком рассказывает об основаниях, на которых стоит «новая сцена», и дает инструменты для анализа современных танц-перформансов. 

В «Странных танцах» возникает разветвленная система координат из терминов и событий современного танца, которая позволит читателю сориентироваться в новых танцевальных практиках и понять, чем «странные российские танцы» принципиально отличаются от «конвенционального» современного танца. Консультантом-редактором книги выступила куратор современного танца Анастасия Прошутинская, причастная к появлению многих «странных танцев» в Москве 2010-х.

На презентации Анастасия Митюшина и Анастасия Прошутинская поговорят с Анной Козониной о том, какие работы стали наиболее сложными для анализа и обсудят вопросы развития «больших нарративов» о творческих стратегиях, пространство интерпретации которых находится на этапе становления. Наряду с этим они продолжат начатую два года назад беседу о русскоязычных источниках о современном танце и превратностях формирования нового языка. 

УЧАСТНИКИ

Анна Козонина — критик, исследовательница и куратор современного танца и перформанса. Регулярно читает лекции о танце в музеях, театрах, культурных центрах Москвы и Петербурга, курирует образовательные и художественные проекты. Преподает теоретические дисциплины в центре современного танца Bye Bye Ballet. Лауреат Государственной премии в области современного искусства «Инновация» (номинация «Новая генерация», 2019).


Анастасия Прошутинская — куратор и исследовательница современного танца. Магистр по направлениям Performance Studies (Университет Южного Иллинойса) и «История искусств» (Московский государственный университет им. М. В. Ломоносова). С 2012 по 2018 год работала в Культурном центре ЗИЛ, где занималась организацией резиденций для молодых хореографов и созданием новых сценических работ. В 2019 году вошла в состав жюри секции [8:tension] Young Choreographers’ Series фестиваля ImPulsTanz (Вена).


Анастасия Митюшина — куратор публичной программы Музея современного искусства «Гараж». Окончила факультет истории и теории искусства Московского государственного университета им. М. В. Ломоносова (2004). Избранные кураторские проекты в Музее «Гараж»: «do it Москва» (совместно со Снежаной Кръстевой; 2014); школа перформанса и танца СОТА@Гараж (совместно с Диной Хусейн; 2016); «Безграничный слух» (совместно с Ярославом Воловодом и группой Council; 2018); полевое исследование «Советский жест» кооператива «Айседорино горе» (2019–2020); 2-я Триеннале российского современного искусства (совместно с Валентином Дьяконовым; 2021). Публиковалась в журнале «Архроника», «Художественном журнале» и на портале «Артгид». Является приглашенным лектором Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики» (Москва) и бизнес-школы RMA (Москва).

ПОСЕЩЕНИЕ

Вход свободный по предварительной регистрации.
Трансляция будет доступна на YouTube.

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ

Поделиться