Dan Healey. Homosexual Desire in Revolutionary Russia: The Regulation of Sexual and Gender Dissent

Dan Healey. Homosexual Desire in Revolutionary Russia: The Regulation of Sexual and Gender DissentDan Healey. Homosexual Desire in Revolutionary Russia: The Regulation of Sexual and Gender Dissent
  • Year2022
  • LanguageRussian
  • Edition1500
  • Pages520
  • BindingPaperback
  • Price1460 RUB
Buy book
Garage publishing program

Homosexual Desire in Revolutionary Russia: The Regulation of Sexual and Gender Dissent is a new revised and updated translation of the first comprehensive study of sexual history in Russia that analyzes the hidden worlds of gender dissidents in the decisive decades on the eve of and after the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution.

Using sources and archives that became available to researchers only after 1991, Oxford historian Dan Healey examines the sexual subcultures of St. Petersburg and Moscow, revealing the ambiguous attitude of the tsarist regime and the revolutionaries toward homosexuals. The book reveals stories of ordinary people whose lives were very unusual, capturing the voices of a social minority that was long deprived of the opportunity to make itself heard in the public space.

18+

Look inside and read an excerpt.

Author

Dan Healey — he is a historian, Slavist, Professor at Oxford University, author of multiple papers on Russian queer history. His book Homosexual Desire in Revolutionary Russia earned him the Second Gladstone Prize awarded by the Royal Historical Society in 2001 and remains one of the most cited studies in Russian queer history to this day.

Gallery

Share

Дэн Хили «Другая история. Сексуально-гендерное диссидентство в революционной России»

Дэн Хили «Другая история. Сексуально-гендерное диссидентство в революционной России»Дэн Хили «Другая история. Сексуально-гендерное диссидентство в революционной России»
  • Год2022
  • ЯзыкРусский
  • Тираж1500
  • Страниц520
  • ОбложкаМягкая
  • Цена1460 руб.
Купить книгу
Издательская программа Музея современного искусства «Гараж»

«Другая история: Сексуально-гендерное диссидентство в революционной России» — это новый исправленный и дополненный перевод первого объемного исследования сексуальной истории в России, в котором анализируются скрытые миры гендерных диссидентов в решающие десятилетия накануне и после большевистской революции 1917 года.

Пользуясь источниками и архивами, которые стали доступны исследователям лишь после 1991 г., оксфордский историк Дэн Хили изучает сексуальные субкультуры Санкт-Петербурга и Москвы, показывая неоднозначное отношение царского режима и революционных деятелей к гомосексуалам. Книга доносит до читателя истории обычных людей, жизни которых были весьма необычны, и запечатлевает голоса социального меньшинства, которые долгое время были лишены возможности прозвучать в публичном пространстве.

18+

Посмотреть содержание и прочитать фрагмент книги.

Об авторе

Дэн Хили — историк, славист, профессор Оксфордского университета, автор множества работ по квир-истории России. Его книга «Другая история» получила вторую премию Гладстона Королевского исторического общества в 2001 году и до сих пор остается одним из самых цитируемых исследований в области квир-истории России. 

Галерея

Поделиться