Helen Marten

Place

Garage Museum of Contemporary Art
Age limit — 6+

In 2022, Garage will present the first solo exhibition in Russia of Turner Prize winning artist Helen Marten. The artist will produce new works for the show in Moscow, including drawings, paintings, videos and large, multi-piece sculptures, or spatial assemblages, which will be integrated into the space of the former Seasons of the Year café.

For Garage Atrium, Marten will create a large-scale sculpture, which will alter the familiar look of the Museum’s entrance space.

Helen Marten makes art that questions the stability of the material world and our place in it. Her works allude to ideas, systems, and experiences, articulating complex ideas about the way in which we exist in and understand the world around us.

A catalogue will be published to mark the exhibition. Garage will also publish a Russian translation of Marten’s 2020 novel The Boiled in Between.


Curator: Katya Inozemtseva

September–November 2022

ABOUT THE ARTIST

Helen Marten (b. 1985, Macclesfield, UK) studied at the Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art at the University of Oxford and at Central Saint Martins (London). She has exhibited internationally, with major exhibitions at institutions including Serpentine Sackler Gallery, London (2016); Fridericianum, Kassel (2014); CCS Bard Hessel Museum, Annandale-on-Hudson (2013); Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2012); and Kunsthalle Zürich (2012). She participated in the 56th (2015)  and 55th (2013) Venice Biennales and the 20th Sydney Biennial (2020). She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Turner Prize (2016), The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture (2016), LUMA Prize (2012), and Prix Lafayette (2011).

Share

Хелен Мартен

Место

Музей современного искусства «Гараж»
Ограничение по возрасту — 6+

Музей «Гараж» представит первую в России выставку обладательницы премии Тернера Хелен Мартен. Для показа в Москве художница готовит новые работы, в том числе графику, живопись, видео и многосоставные объекты — пространственные ассамбляжи, вписанные в интерьеры бывшего кафе «Времена года».

Для Атриума Музея Мартен создаст масштабную скульптуру, которая поменяет привычный облик входного пространства «Гаража».

Через различные формы искусства Хелен Мартен подвергает сомнению устойчивость материального мира и положение в нем человека. Отсылая к разнообразным идеям, системам и переживаниям, ее произведения представляют потенциальные сценарии нашего существования и понимания мира.

К выставке будет выпущен каталог. В издательской программе «Гаража» выйдет перевод книги The Boiled in Between, написанной художницей в 2020 году.


Куратор: Екатерина Иноземцева

Сентябрь–ноябрь 2022

О ХУДОЖНИЦЕ

Хелен Мартен (род. 1985, Маклсфилд, Великобритания) училась в Школе искусств Раскина при Оксфордском университете и колледже Сент-Мартинс (Лондон). Участвовала в выставках в Кунстхалле Цюриха (2012), Пале де Токио (Париж, 2012) Музее искусств Хесселя (Аннандейл-он-Хадсон, США, 2013), Фридерициануме (Кассель, 2014), галерее «Серпентайн» (Лондон, 2016), а также в 55-й и 56-й Венецианской биеннале (2013, 2015) и 20-й Сиднейской биеннале (2016). Лауреат приза Lafayette (2011), премии LUMA (2012), Премии Хепуорт в области современной скульптуры (2016) и премии Тернера (2016).

Поделиться