Discussion: How We (Never) Spoke and (Do Not) Speak About Gender

Discussion: How We (Never) Spoke and (Do Not) Speak About GenderDiscussion: How We (Never) Spoke and (Do Not) Speak About Gender

DESCRIPTION

The discussion will explore the question of gender in the Soviet and Russian media.

Considering journalism as one of the most important tools for remembering the past, the participants will discuss how the gender policy of the media changed in the Soviet years, how it was influenced by glasnost and perestroika, what transformations it underwent in the 1990s, and how socio-political and historical contexts affect gender attitudes in the Russian media environment today.

Socio-cultural disciplines define gender as a set of so-called sex-role attitudes adopted in a particular society. Gender attitudes and stereotypes are reflected in our words, actions, images, and rituals. Using Judith Butler's language, we all perform the gender assigned to us by the community or ourselves. In other words, we endlessly ascribe to ourselves and reproduce feminine or masculine characteristics. Through this binary system (femininity/masculinity) we perceive and cognize everything that happens around us, normalizing some types of representations and tabooing others.

Media are one of the main sources of gender patterns and stereotypes. They create and dictate “ideal” performatives. The participants will discuss how gender attitudes were conceived and reproduced in the Soviet and Russian media and how they turned into “invisible” words and actions. What stands behind the omnipresent ads for gadgets or food? How are sexism, machismo, and objectification encoded into these ads? How has the historical context influenced existing gender schemes, and what can the study of the Soviet media reveal in this context? Can we talk about a sexual revolution and the formation of a new grid of gender attitudes in the USSR in the late 1980s? And is there a difference between the gender agenda in the Russian media in the 2000s and today?

PARTICIPANTS

Nastya Krasilnikova is a journalist, feminist activist, author of the Telegram channels Vashu Mat and Doch Razboinika, host of the Doch Razboinika podcast, and author of Enough! (2020), a documentary film about the culture of violence against women in Russia.

Daria Serenko is a feminist activist, artist, and writer. Co-founder of Femdacha, a shelter for female and male activists experiencing burnout, and co-curator of the educational project Phone Meeting Course: Feminism, Activism, Gender. Serenko curated the support campaigns for Yulia Tsvetkova and the Khachaturyan sisters. She is a columnist and journalist at Takie Dela, Afisha, and other publications and is the author of the book Girls and Institutions (no kidding press, 2021).

Karen Shainyan is a journalist, producer, author of the YouTube channel Straight Talk with Gay People, and author of the documentary project Queerography, which describes the life of queer people in Russian cities.

Sasha Talaver is a gender researcher, PhD student at the Department of Gender Studies at CEU (Vienna), visiting fellow at the Center for Contemporary History Potsdam, and visiting lecturer at Moscow’s Higher School of Economics. Her academic interests include the history of Soviet gender politics, with a dedicated focus on women's political involvement. She runs the Telegram channel Bessmertny Pol (The Immortal Sex).

Oksana Vasyakina is a writer and poet.

MODERATOR

Katerina Suverina is curator of Garage Art Book Fair, editor at The Garage Journal, and co-founder of the Public History Laboratory.

HOW TO TAKE PART

The discussion will take place via Zoom and will be broadcast on the Garage YouTube channel.

REGISTRATION

Registration
Registration
Mailing list

Регистрация
Регистрация

Дискуссия «Как мы (не) говорили и (не) говорим о гендере»

Дискуссия «Как мы (не) говорили и (не) говорим о гендере»Дискуссия «Как мы (не) говорили и (не) говорим о гендере»

ОПИСАНИЕ

Дискуссия посвящена гендерной повестке советских и российских медиа.

Рассматривая журналистику в качестве одного из важнейших инструментов памяти о прошлом, участники обсудят, как менялась гендерная политика медиа в советские годы, какое влияние на нее оказали гласность и перестройка, а также какие трансформации она претерпела в 1990-е и как социально-политический и исторический контексты сказываются на гендерных установках в российской медиасреде сегодня.

Социально-культурные дисциплины определяют гендер как набор так называемых полоролевых установок, принятых в том или ином обществе. Гендерные установки и стереотипы находят отражение в наших словах, действиях, образах и ритуалах. Выражаясь языком Батлер, мы все перформатируем гендер, к которому нас относит сообщество или мы сами. Другими словами, мы бесконечно приписываем себе и воспроизводим феминные или маскулинные характеристики. Через эту бинарную систему (феминность/маскулинность) мы воспринимаем и познаем все, что происходит вокруг, нормализуя одни виды репрезентаций и табуируя другие.

Медиа — один из главных поставщиков гендерных паттернов и стереотипов. Именно они создают и диктуют «идеальные» перформативы. Участники дискуссии обсудят, как в советских и российских медиа формировались и воспроизводились гендерные установки и как они превращались в «невидимые» слова-действия. Что стоит за повсеместной рекламой гаджетов или продуктов питания? Как в нее зашиты сексизм, мачизм и объективизация? Как исторический контекст повлиял на существующие гендерные схемы и что в этом контексте может обнажить изучение советских медиа? Можем ли мы говорить о сексуальной революции и формировании новой сетки гендерных установок в СССР конца 1980-х? Есть ли разница между гендерной повесткой в российских медиа 2000-х и сегодня?

УЧАСТНИКИ

Настя Красильникова — журналистка, фем-активистка, авторка телеграм-каналов «Вашу мать» и «дочь разбойника», создательница подкаста «дочь разбойника» и документального фильма о культуре насилия над женщинами в России «Хватит!» (2020).

Дарья Серенко — фемактивистка, художница, писательница. Соосновательница проекта «Фемдача» — шелтера для активистов и активисток, переживающих выгорание, сокураторка образовательного проекта «Созвон-курс: феминизм, активизм, гендер». Сокурировала кампании поддержки Юлии Цветковой и сестер Хачатурян. Пишет как колумнистка и журналистка для «Таких дел», «Афиши» и др. Авторка книги «Девочки и институции» (no kidding press, 2021).

Карен Шаинян — журналист, продюсер, автор YouTube-канала Straight Talk with Gay People, автор документального проекта «Квирография» о том, как живут квир-люди в городах России.

Саша Талавер — гендерная исследовательница, докторантка факультета гендерных исследований ЦЕУ (Вена), приглашенная исследовательница Центра современной истории (Потсдам), приглашенная преподавательница НИУ ВШЭ (Москва). Занимается историей советской гендерной политики с фокусом на женском политическом участии. Ведет телеграм-канал «Бессмертный пол».

Оксана Васякина —писательница и поэтесса. 

МОДЕРАТОР

Катерина Суверина — куратор ярмарки книг об искусстве GARAGE ART BOOK FAIR, редактор The Garage Journal, сооснователь Лаборатории публичной истории.

ПОСЕЩЕНИЕ

Дискуссия пройдет в Zoom, будет транслироваться на YouTube-канале Музея «Гараж»

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ